PhD in Computer Science and Engineering
cse

PhD in Computer Science and Engineering

A doctoral program providing exposure to groundbreaking research and invaluable experience in the high-demand field of computer science and engineering.

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

CSE’s PhD program in Computer Science and Engineering provides students with a solid, fundamental and advanced education, as well as strong research experience and a broad understanding of aspects related to computer science and engineering that will translate into an exciting, challenging, and well-compensated job in the high-demand field of computer science and engineering.

The program aims to equip students with up-to-date knowledge of computer science and engineering, as well as the methods, tools, and technologies needed to explore this rapidly evolving field.

The program provides a broad, multidisciplinary and research-intensive education at the boundary of computer science and engineering, while providing specialization streams in contemporary fields that are globally important and relevant to Qatar. These fields can include systems and computer security, software engineering, computational sciences, computer systems, architecture and very-large-scale integration (VLSI), robotics machine perception, sensing technologies, human-computer interface (HCI), ‘big data’ and data analytics, machine learning and artificial intelligence, computer vision and graphics, as well as wireless and mobile computing and networking, bioinformatics and health informatics.


Program Focus

  • This program focuses on the core skills needed to build a successful, advanced career in computer science, engineering and technology-related areas. It explores research methods, applied data analytics, advanced algorithms and data structure, computer architecture and VLSI, ethics, technical writing, and a number of relevant specialties.
  • Students are required to conduct original and guided research with faculty supervision that concentrates on the contemporary issues in computer science and engineering which are globally important and also relevant to Qatar.
  • The program provides our students with a broad understanding of the field, together with the flexibility to specialize in contemporary and up-to- date areas of computer science and engineering.

Curriculum:

This program comprises a minimum of 54 credits taught in English and requires a masterʼs degree in Computer Science or Engineering, Electrical Engineering, or allied fields; It can be completed typically in three to four years.

  • Three core courses to provide students coming from diverse backgrounds with a coherent learning environment that enables them to tackle complex issues in computer science and engineering.

    The core courses are:

    • Research Methods and Ethics in ICT
    • Applied Data Analytics

    One of the following two courses is required to complete the three-core course requirement, depending on whether the student is interested in a hardware or software research area: 

    • Principles of Computer System Design
    • Advanced Algorithms and Data Structures
  • Three elective courses

    • Covering some engineering and science fundamentals plus a variety of computer science and engineering electives, which provide students with a solid base to fully understand different aspects of computer science and engineering and the interrelations between them.
  • Three semesters of graduate research seminars.

  • A research thesis with a minimum of 36-credits under the supervision of an adviser and a PhD dissertation committee.

  • PhD students should pass a qualifying examination after their second semester of study, successfully defend their thesis proposal to their committee after their fourth semester of study, and successfully complete a PhD dissertation.

View Admission & Application Requirements

الدكتوراه في علوم الحاسوب وهندسته | جامعة حمد بن خليفة
الدكتوراه في علوم الحاسوب وهندسته

الدكتوراه في علوم الحاسوب وهندسته

يهدف البرنامج إلى إبراز البحوث الفريدة من نوعها والتجارب القيِّمة في مجال علوم الحاسوب وهندسته، الذي يزداد الطلب عليه يومًا بعد يوم.

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

يُوفِّر برنامج الدكتوراه في علوم الحاسوب وهندسته، المقدم في جامعة حمد بن خليفة، تعليمًا قويًّا وأساسيًّا ومتطورًا للطلاب، فضلاً عن التجربة البحثية، وفهم المجالات المتعلقة بعلوم الحاسوب وهندسته بصورة أكبر، مما يتيح لهم تجربة قيِّمة، وفرصًا عظيمة للحصول على وظائف مرموقة ومجزية في مجال علوم الحاسوب وهندسته، الذي يزداد الطلب عليه يومًا بعد يوم. 

ويهدف البرنامج إلى تزويد الطلاب بالمعرفة المتطورة والمتقدمة في مجال علوم الحاسوب وهندسته، إضافةً إلى الوسائل والأدوات والتقنيات التكنولوجية اللازمة لاستكشاف هذا المجال سريع التطور. 

كما يُوفِّر البرنامج تعليمًا على نطاق واسع ومتعدد التخصصات، ويركز على البحوث المكثَّفة الخاصة بعلوم الحاسوب وهندسته، مع إتاحة اتجاهات التخصص في المجالات المعاصرة، ذات الأهمية الكبرى على مستوى العالم ولدولة قطر. تشمل هذه المجالات: أمن الحاسوب وأنظمته، وهندسة البرمجيات، وعلوم الحاسوب وأنظمته، والهندسة المعمارية، والدوائر الإلكترونية المتكاملة، والتصور الآلي من خلال الروبوتات، وتكنولوجيا الاستشعار، والتفاعل بين الإنسان والحاسوب، وتحليل البيانات الهائلة، والتعلُّم الآلي، والذكاء الاصطناعي، والرؤية الحاسوبية، وتصاميم الجرافيك، والسلوك التقني، وهندسة البرمجيات، والحوسبة المتنقلة، والحوسبة اللاسلكية، والشبكات، والمعلوماتية الحيوية، والمعلوماتية الصحية. 


تركيز البرنامج:

  • يُركِّز البرنامج على المهارات الرئيسة المطلوبة لبناء حياة مهنية متطورة ناجحة في مجال علوم الحاسوب وهندسته، والمجالات ذات الصلة بالتكنولوجيا. إضافةً إلى ذلك، فهو يستكشف الوسائل البحثية، واللوغاريتمات المتطورة، وبنية البيانات، ومعمارية الحاسوب، الدائرة المتكاملة، والأخلاقيات والكتابة الفنية، وعددًا من التخصصات ذات الصلة.
  • ينبغي على الطلاب إجراء بحوث أصلية وموجهة تحت إشراف هيئة التدريس، مع التركيز على المشكلات المعاصرة في مجال علوم الحاسوب وهندسته، ذات الأهمية الكبرى على مستوى العالم، وذات الصلة الكبيرة بدولة قطر. 
  • يؤهل البرنامج الطلاب لفهم هذا المجال بصورة شاملة، فضلًا عن توفُّر مرونة التخصص في أيٍّ من المجالات المعاصرة والحديثة الخاصة بعلوم الحاسوب وهندسته.

المقرَّرات الدراسية:

يستغرق البرنامج (54) ساعة معتمدة، ويُدرَّس باللغة الإنجليزية، ويتطلب أن يكون الطالب حاصلاً على درجة الماجستير في هندسة الحاسوب، أو الهندسة الكهربائية، أو مجال ذي صلة، وتستغرق دراسته من ثلاثة إلى أربعة أعوم، ويتضمَّن:

  • ثلاث دورات دراسية رئيسية لتزويد الطلاب القادمين من خلفيات متنوعة، ببيئة تعليم متسقة، تُمكِّنهم من التعامل مع المشكلات المعقدة في علوم الحاسوب وهندسته. وتتضمَّن هذه المقرَّرات:

    • أساليب البحث وأخلاقياته في تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات. 
    • تحليل البيانات التطبيقية.

    ويتعين على الطلاب دراسة واحدة من الدورتين التاليتين لإكمال متطلبات الدورات الثلاثة الاساسية، اعتمادًا على ما إذا كان الطالب مهتمًا بمجال بحوث الأجهزة أو البرامج:

    •  مبادئ تصميم أنظمة الحاسوب
    •  الخوارزميات المتقدمة وهياكل البيانات
  • ثلاث دورات اختيارية تغطي بعض أساسيات الهندسة والعلوم، إضافة إلى مجموعة متنوعة من المواد الاختيارية في علوم الحاسوب وهندسته، والتي تزود الطلاب بقاعدة راسخة لفهم الجوانب المختلفة لهذا المجال، وروابطهما المشتركة.

  • ثلاثة فصول دراسية من الندوات البحثية لطلاب الدكتوراه.

  • أطروحة بحثية بحد أدنى 36 ساعة معتمدة يشرف عليها أحد المشرفين الأكاديميين ولجنة أطروحة الدكتوراه.

  • ويتعين على طلاب الدكتوراه أن يجتازوا اختبارًا تأهيليًا بعد الفصل الدراسي الثاني، وأن يجتازوا بنجاح الدفاع عن مقترح أطروحاتهم أمام اللجنة المختصة بعد الفصل الدراسي الرابع، وأن يستكملوا أطروحاتهم للدكتوراه بنجاح.
     

عرض شروط القبول وطلبات التقديم