Master of Science in Sport and Entertainment Management | HBKU
Master of Science in Sport and Entertainment Management

Master of Science in Sport and Entertainment Management

Master of Science in Sport and Entertainment Management

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

The Master of Science in Sport and Entertainment Management (MSEM) is offered by Hamad Bin Khalifa University’s College of Science and Engineering (CSE), leading to a joint degree with the University of South Carolina (USC). Identified as the first master’s degree in sports and entertainment management in Qatar and one of a few in the MENA region, the program trains and prepares students for management and leadership roles in the sports and entertainment industries. In 2018, USC's MSEM program was ranked no. 6 worldwide by SportBusiness International.


The growth of the sports activities and economy in Qatar has led to the emergence of a new field known as sports and entertainment management. Sports has been identified as a major enabler to achieve the aspirations of the Qatar National Vision 2030 with a special emphasis on the human and economic development pillars. However, sports and entertainment industries require highly skilled personnel capable of addressing the diverse operational, financial, and legal challenges to support the country’s vision in creating a successful and worthwhile sports economy. 


The MSEM aims to support Qatar’s objectives by qualifying professionals with a variety of skills and experiences covering the legal, financial, as well as the operational and management aspects of the sports and entertainment industries. Graduates of the program could pursue a variety of career paths in the private and public sports sectors including sponsorship, marketing, event management, facility management, TV broadcasting, and academia and research.
 


Program Focus

Delivered by CSE’s Engineering Management and Decision Sciences (EMDS) division, the program will provide students a comprehensive and holistic overview of the sports and entertainment industries, as well as a multi-disciplinary skill set which will enable them to address the complex challenges of the global sports and entertainment sector. Additionally, students will be able to develop and explain workable solutions to various industry problems.

Graduates of this program are equipped to:

  • Apply learned concepts and theory to demonstrate an understanding of the nature of the sports and entertainment industries
  • Understand and have an appreciation for how research is used by and is beneficial for sports and entertainment organizations and/or academics
  • Demonstrate an ability to develop and explain workable solutions to various industry problems related to sports and entertainment.
     

Curriculum

The MSEM is a 36-credit hour degree program, taught over two years in English, and designed to train students for management and leadership roles in the sports, entertainment, and venue management industries. Successful students will have skills at the intersection between management, finance, and law. The acquired skills will enable graduates to efficiently deal with several challenges within the sports and entertainment industries. It is possible for students to choose between thesis and non-thesis options.

  • Thesis Option

    • Students electing the thesis option must complete 27 credit hours of required courses, complete at least nine credit hours of elective course work from which a maximum of nine credit hours may be taken outside of the program, and pass a comprehensive examination upon completion of the coursework and thesis.
       
  • Non-Thesis Option

    • Students electing the non-thesis option must complete 21 credit hours of required courses, complete at least 15 credit hours of elective course work from which a maximum of nine credit hours may be taken outside of the program, and pass a comprehensive examination upon completion of all course work. Students selecting the non-thesis option may (but are not required to) enroll in a field project in Hospitality, Retail, or Sport Management for six elective credit hours.
  • Required courses will cover topics such as: Venue Management: Principles and Practices, Management in the Sport and Entertainment Industry, Advanced Sport and the Law, Principles of Sport and Entertainment Marketing, Sport and Entertainment Finance, Statistical Methods, and Applied Research in Hospitality, Retail, and Sport Management.
     

View Admission & Application Requirements

ماجستير العلوم في إدارة الأنشطة الرياضية والفعاليات | HBKU
ماجستير العلوم في إدارة الأنشطة الرياضية والفعاليات

ماجستير العلوم في إدارة الأنشطة الرياضية والفعاليات

ماجستير العلوم في إدارة الأنشطة الرياضية والفعاليات

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

USCتقدم كلية العلوم والهندسة في جامعة حمد بن خليفة ماجستير العلوم في إدارة الأنشطة الرياضية والفعاليات، وهي درجة تؤهل الطالب لاحقًا للحصول على درجة علمية مشتركة مع جامعة كارولينا الجنوبية. وباعتباره أول ماجستير في إدارة الأنشطة الرياضية والفعاليات في قطر، وأحد البرامج القلائل في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، يُدرب هذا البرنامج الطلاب ويُجهزهم للاضطلاع بالمهام الإدارية والقيادية في مجالي الرياضة والفعاليات. وقد حصل نفس البرنامج في جامعة جنوب كارولينا على الترتيب رقم (6) عالميًا.


لقد أدى تنامي الاقتصاد الرياضي في قطر إلى ظهور مجال جديد يُعرف بإدارة الأنشطة الرياضية والفعاليات. وأصبحت الرياضة أحد عوامل التمكين الرئيسية لتحقيق طموحات وغايات رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030، مع تركيز خاص على ركائز التنمية البشرية والاقتصادية. لكن صناعة الرياضة والفعاليات تتطلب كوادر ذات خبرة عالية، وقادرة على التصدي للتحديات التشغيلية والمالية والقانونية المتنوعة؛ لدعم رؤية البلاد في بناء اقتصاد رياضي ناجع وذي مكانة مرموقة.


يهدف ماجستير العلوم في إدارة الأنشطة الرياضية والفعاليات إلى دعم أهداف قطر من خلال تأهيل الخبراء والمختصين، وتزويدهم بمجموعة متنوعة من المهارات والخبرات التي تغطي الجوانب القانونية والمالية، بالإضافة إلى الجوانب التشغيلية والإدارية في مجال صناعة الرياضة والفعاليات. يؤهل هذا البرنامج خريجيه لسلك مجموعة متنوعة من المسارات المهنية في قطاعات الرياضة العامة منها والخاصة، التي تشمل الرعاية، والتسويق، وإدارة الفعاليات، وإدارة المنشآت والمرافق، والبث التلفزيوني، فضلاً عن المجالين الأكاديمي والبحثي.
 


تركيز البرنامج

يوفر البرنامج، الذي يقدمه قسم الإدارة الهندسية وعلوم القرار في كلية العلوم والهندسة، للطلاب استعراضًا عامًا وشاملاً لصناعة الأنشطة الرياضية والفعاليات، فضلاً عن تزويدهم بمجموعة من المهارات متعددة التخصصات التي تُمكنهم من التصدي للتحديات المعقدة ضمن قطاع الرياضة والفعاليات على المستوى الدولي. إضافة إلى ذلك، سيكون الطلاب قادرين على تطوير وتفسير حلول عملية لمختلف مشاكل وتعقيدات الصناعة.
يُؤهَل خريجو هذا البرنامج لما يلي:

  • تطبيق المفاهيم والنظريات التي تعلموها لإظهار استيعابهم لطبيعة صناعة الرياضة والفعاليات.
  • فهم وتقدير كيفية استخدام البحوث وفائدتها لصالح مؤسسات الرياضة والفعاليات و / أو لفائدة المجال الأكاديمي.
  • إظهار القدرة على تطوير وتفسير حلول عملية لمختلف مشاكل الصناعة ذات العلاقة بالرياضة والفعاليات.

المقرر الدراسي

يشتمل برنامج ماجستير العلوم في إدارة الأنشطة الرياضية والفعاليات على 36 ساعة معتمدة، ويُدرس على مدار عامين باللغة الإنجليزية، وقد صُمم البرنامج لتدريب الطلاب على مهام إدارة وقيادة صناعة الرياضة والفعاليات، وإدارة المنشآت والمرافق الرياضية. يكتسب الطلاب الناجحون في هذا البرنامج مهارات وقواسم مشتركة بين المهام الإدارية والمالية والقانونية. وتُمكن هذه المهارات المكتسبة الخريجين من التعامل بكفاءة مع التحديات العديدة ضمن صناعة الرياضة والفعاليات. ويُمكن للطلاب الاختيار بين مسارين أحدهما مسار أطروحة التخرج، ومسار آخر بدونها.

  • مسار أطروحة التخرج

    • يتعين على الطلاب الذين يختارون مسار أطروحة التخرج إتمام 27 ساعة معتمدة من الدورات الدراسية الإلزامية، وتسع ساعات معتمدة على الأقل من الدورات الاختيارية، والتي يمكن دراسة تسع ساعات معتمدة منها بحد أقصى خارج إطار البرنامج، وعليهم اجتياز اختبار شامل عند إتمام المقرر الدراسي وأطروحة التخرج.  
       
  • مسار الماجستير بدون أطروحة

    • يتعين على الطلاب الذين يختارون مسار الماجستير بدون أطروحة إتمام 21 ساعة معتمدة من الدورات الإلزامية، و15 ساعة معتمدة على الأقل من الدورات الاختيارية، والتي يمكن الحصول على تسع ساعات معتمدة منها بحد أقصى خارج إطار البرنامج، واجتياز اختبار شامل عند إتمام جميع الدورات الدراسية. يجوز للطلاب الذين يختارون مسار الماجستير بدون أطروحة (دون إلزامهم) التسجيل في مشروع ميداني في مجالات إدارة مرافق الضيافة، أو أعمال التجزئة، أو إدارة الفعاليات الرياضية، ويشمل ست ساعات معتمدة اختيارية.
  • تغطي الدورات الإلزامية موضوعات مثل: إدارة المنشآت والمرافق: المبادئ والممارسات، والإدارة في صناعة الرياضة والفعاليات، والأنشطة الرياضية المتقدمة والقانون، ومبادئ التسويق الرياضي وتسويق الفعاليات، وتمويل الأنشطة الرياضية والفعاليات، والمناهج الإحصائية، والبحوث التطبيقية في الضيافة، وأعمال التجزئة، وإدارة الأنشطة الرياضية.      
     

عرض شروط القبول وطلبات التقديم