Master of Social Policy and Program Evaluation | HBKU
Master of Social Policy and Program Evaluation

Master of Social Policy and Program Evaluation

Master of Social Policy and Program Evaluation

 

Master of Social Policy and Program Evaluation

The Master of Social Policy and Program Evaluation (MSPPE) is a full-time two-year degree offered by the College of Public Policy at HBKU. The program provides advanced analytic and substantive knowledge of social policy and program evaluation to educate professionals for careers in the public, private, and non-profit sectors on issues of local and global importance.

The program also supports Qatar’s national development by providing evidence-based and ethically informed social policies, supporting policy and program evaluation and building national capacity in social policy and evaluation. 

Supported by the Program for Social Policy Evaluation and Research (PROSPER) at CPP, the MSPPE offers students a unique opportunity to develop the evaluation skills needed to inform programs and policies with reliable evidence, support communities and drive organizational change across a range of sectors and activities. The program aims to prepare graduates to shape the strategic direction of social policy and program evaluation in Qatar and beyond. 
 


Program Focus

The MSPPE will offer a combination of theory, social policy analysis, and policy research and evaluation methods courses using a variety of analytical methods, as well as the opportunity to gain real-world, practical experience. Since the objective of social policy is ultimately human and societal well-being, students will be challenged to reflect on and assess the ethical foundations of social policy interventions. This interdisciplinary degree will draw from multiple fields of study, including economics, political science, sociology, psychology, education, law, applied ethics, and public health. Classroom learning for the MSPPE will be supplemented by applied social policy and evaluation research through public policy lab and internship opportunities.

Graduates of the program will be equipped to:

  • Function effectively as leading practitioners or senior managers, policy makers, policy analysts, and policy and program evaluators in government, private sector, NGOs and international organizations, designing, improving, leading and implementing efficient social policies.
  • Provide solutions to social problems that account for economic, ethical, and societal considerations as well as professional standards, by applying acquired social policy knowledge. 
  • Apply their broad social policy and program evaluation education to effectively evaluate policies and programs to improve outcomes and impact.

Curriculum:

A 36-credit program taught over two years that includes:

  • Two foundation courses (6 credits)

    • Foundations of Social Policy
    • Foundations of Evaluation
       
  • Two core courses (6 credits)

    • Social Policy Analysis
    • Research Methods
       
  • Three specialization courses (9 credits)

    • There are two distinct concentrations that enable students to focus on social policy or program evaluation. In addition to the core courses students will take courses from the following two concentrations:

    Concentration in Social Policy (9 credits)

    • Welfare of Children and Families
    • Health Policy
    • Education Policy

    OR

    Concentration in Program Evaluation (9 credits)

    • Advanced Methods for Program Evaluation 
    • Benefit-Cost Analysis for Program Evaluation
    • Program Evaluation Planning and Designs 
       

     

  • Two elective courses (6 credits)

    • Big Data Analytics 
    • Law and Social Policy 
    • Gender and Social Policy 
    • Evaluation of Sustainable Development Goals 
  • Thesis (9 credits)

    All students are required to complete a master's thesis worth 9 credits. All theses must address an appropriate research topic relevant for Qatar, the Middle East, or globally, which includes a defined field of research and a number of researchable questions to investigate. Theses should demonstrate a good knowledge of the literature in the field of social policy or program evaluation; contribute to the study of the field through original research and/or by relating the subject studies to the broader academic literature; and demonstrate analytic ability through the careful and critical use of relevant concepts and approaches.

ماجستير السياسات الاجتماعية وتقييم البرامج | جامعة حمد بن خليفة
ماجستير السياسات الاجتماعية وتقييم البرامج

ماجستير السياسات الاجتماعية وتقييم البرامج

ماجستير السياسات الاجتماعية وتقييم البرامج

 

ماجستير السياسات الاجتماعية وتقييم البرامج

تقدّم كلية السياسات العامة في جامعة حمد بن خليفة برنامج ماجستير السياسات الاجتماعية وتقييم البرامج على مدار عامين بنظام الدوام الكامل. ويوفر البرنامج المعرفة التحليلية والموضوعية المتقدمة في مجال السياسات الاجتماعية وتقييم البرامج لتزويد المتخصصين في المواقع الوظيفية المختلفة في القطاعين العام والخاص والمؤسسات غير الهادفة للربح بالمعرفة حول القضايا ذات الأهمية المحلية والعالمية.

ويسعى البرنامج لدعم مسيرة التنمية الوطنية لدولة قطر من خلال توفير سياسات اجتماعية مستنيرة تستند إلى الأدلة والقيم الأخلاقية، ودعم تقييم السياسات والبرامج وبناء القدرات الوطنية في مجال السياسات الاجتماعية وتقييمها. 

بدعم من برنامج بحوث وتقييم السياسات الاجتماعية في كلية السياسات العامة، يوفر برنامج ماجستير السياسات الاجتماعية وتقييم البرامج للطلاب فرصة فريدة لتطوير مهارات التقييم اللازمة لتزويد البرامج والسياسات بالأدلة الموثوقة، ودعم المجتمعات وتحفيز التطوير الهيكلي عبر مجموعة من القطاعات والأنشطة. ويهدف البرنامج إلى إعداد الخريجين لصياغة التوجهات الاستراتيجية للسياسات الاجتماعية وتقييم البرامج في دولة قطر وخارجها.
 


تركيز البرنامج

يشتمل برنامج ماجستير السياسات الاجتماعية وتقييم البرامج على مجموعة من المقررات الدراسية النظرية وتحليل السياسات الاجتماعية وبحوث السياسات وأساليب التقييم مستخدمًا مجموعة متنوعة من المنهجيات التحليلية، بالإضافة إلى إتاحة الفرصة لاكتساب خبرات عملية من عالم الواقع. ونظرًا لأن الغاية من السياسات الاجتماعية في نهاية المطاف هي تحقيق رفاهية الإنسان والمجتمع، فسوف يخوض طلاب البرنامج تحديًا يتعلق بتناول وتقييم الأسس الأخلاقية لتدابير السياسات الاجتماعية. ويستند هذا البرنامج الأكاديمي متعدد التخصصات إلى مجالات دراسية متعددة، بما في ذلك الاقتصاد، والعلوم السياسية، وعلم الاجتماع، وعلم النفس، والتربية، والقانون، والأخلاقيات التطبيقية، والصحة العامة. وتستكمل عملية التعلّم في قاعات الدراسة ضمن برنامج ماجستير السياسات الاجتماعية وتقييم البرامج من خلال السياسات الاجتماعية التطبيقية وبحوث التقييم في مختبر السياسات العامة وفرص التدريب.

يزود البرنامج طلابه بما يلي:

  • التنفيذ الفعال لمهام الممارسين البارزين وكبار المديرين وصناع السياسات ومحلليها ومقيّمي السياسات والبرامج في المؤسسات الحكومية والقطاع الخاص والمنظمات غير الحكومية والمنظمات الدولية، وتصميم السياسات الاجتماعية وتحسينها وتوجيهها وتنفيذها.
  • توفير حلول للمشكلات الاجتماعية التي تراعي الاعتبارات الاقتصادية والأخلاقية والمجتمعية، بالإضافة إلى المعايير المهنية من خلال تطبيق المعرفة المكتسبة ذات الصلة بالسياسات الاجتماعية.
  • تطبيق سياسات اجتماعية شاملة ودورات تعليمية في تقييم البرامج لتقييم السياسات والبرامج بشكل فعال لتحسين النتائج والآثار المرجوة.

المقررات الدراسية:

يتألف البرنامج من 36 ساعة معتمدة ويُدرس على مدار عامين ويشمل:

  • مقرران تأسيسيان (6 ساعات معتمدة)

    • أسس السياسات الاجتماعية
    • أسس التقييم
       
  • مقرران أساسيان (6 ساعات معتمدة)

    • تحليل السياسات الاجتماعية
    • مناهج البحث
       
  • ثلاثة مقررات تخصصية (9 ساعات معتمدة)

    • تندرج تحت تخصصين منفصلين يمكَّنان الطلاب من التركيز على السياسات الاجتماعية أو تقييم البرامج. وبالإضافة إلى المقررات الأساسية، يدرس الطلاب مقررات من تخصصين هما:

    تخصص السياسات الاجتماعية (9 ساعات معتمدة)

    • رفاة الأطفال والأسر
    • السياسات الصحية
    • السياسات التعليمية

    أو

     تخصص تقييم البرامج (9 ساعات معتمدة)

    • مناهج متقدمة في تقييم البرنامج
    •  تحليل الفوائد والتكاليف لتقييم البرامج
    •  تخطيط وتصميم تقييم البرامج

     

  • مقرران اختياريان (6 ساعات معتمدة)

    • ·تحليلات البيانات الضخمة
    • القانون والسياسات الاجتماعية
    • النوع الاجتماعي والسياسات الاجتماعية
    • تقييم أهداف التنمية المستدامة
  • أطروحة تخرج (9 ساعات معتمدة)

    يتعين على جميع الطلاب إكمال أطروحة الماجستير التي تعادل (9 ساعات معتمدة). ويجب أن تتناول جميع أطروحات التخرج موضوعات بحثية مناسبة وذات صلة بقطر أو منطقة الشرق الأوسط أو العالم، على أن تنطوي الأطروحة على مجال محدد للبحث وعدد من القضايا القابلة للبحث لتناولها. ويجب أن تعكس الأطروحة معرفة جيدة بالمادة العلمية المتاحة في مجال السياسات الاجتماعية أو تقييم البرامج، والإسهام في دراسة المجال من خلال البحوث الأصلية و / أو عن طريق ربط دراسات الموضوع بالمواد الأكاديمية الأشمل، وعرض القدرات التحليلية من خلال الاستفادة الدقيقة والنقدية من المفاهيم والنُهج ذات الصلة.
     

عرض شروط القبول وطلبات التقديم