PhD in Islamic Finance and Economy | HBKU
PhD in Islamic Finance and Economy

PhD in Islamic Finance and Economy

The PhD in Islamic Finance and Economy is an innovative multidisciplinary program that provides students with the required analytical and research skills to understand, analyze and interpret the workings of the rapidly growing Islamic financial services and markets and to tackle its emerging challenges and opportunities.

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

The program is centered on the national priorities as set out in the Qatar National Vision 2030 (QNV2030), on the local aspirations as enshrined in the objectives of the Shari’a, and on the global targets such as the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

A key motivation for the PhD program is to develop unique and innovative approaches for the continuous transformation of economies to be more responsible, inclusive, and resilient. The policy relevance for Islamic finance continues to increase, alongside the need to understand and integrate concepts such as responsible finance, green finance, and circular economies. 


Program Focus

The program focuses on Qatar’s economy and businesses according to QNV’s 'four pillars' – economic, social, human and environmental – with expected spillover benefits in the region and globally. In this sense, the program curriculum philosophy and content is unique as it refers to local values, national targets and international goals and seeks to develop synergy between the three through transformation, social entrepreneurship and shared prosperity and well-being in a multidisciplinary approach. The following are the main features of the program:

  • Quantitative foundations: Approaches on how to critically investigate and analyze the relationship between economics, finance and Shariah by using both qualitative and quantitative research methodologies.
  • Shariah studies: Acquiring the abilities to interweave the tenets and values of Shariah with the theory and practice of economics and finance and be in the mindset to analyze, innovate and create.
  • Social entrepreneurship: Promoting innovation, original thinking, and entrepreneurial creativity and acumen in applying Islamic economics and finance theories in Qatar and other contexts towards transforming economies from linear to circular.
  • Sustainability: Providing the student with a deep understanding of the pivotal role played by entrepreneurs in developing businesses and promoting inclusive and sustainable economic growth and wealth.
  • Responsible finance and economics: An in-depth understanding and analysis of Islamic Economic and Finance principles where students will be prepared to participate effectively in reforming the practices of development theories and paradigms, in line with environmental, social and governance concerns.

 

Curriculum

A 54-credit program in English. International scholarship students will study for a maximum of four years and Qatar-based working students may study for six years.

  • Core courses (15 credits)

  • Electives (6 credits)

  • Thesis (33 credits)

View Admission & Application Requirements

CORE COURSES (15 credit hours)

Applied Topics in Usul al Fiqh and Maqasid Al Sharia

This course introduces students to the methodology of Ijtihad in Islamic law so as to understand the basis of Shariah financial rules and the way these are derived from the sources. It intends to help students understand the basis of differences in Islamic Fiqh schools, the reasons why jurists differ and the weight of different legal opinions. This course also aims to equip students with the necessary knowledge of the most important concepts in Maqasid Al Shariah and their applications in Islamic finance and policy implication for economic transformation from linear to circular economies.

Circular Economy and Comprehensive Development: An Islamic Perspective

This course aims to strengthen students’ analytical ability when dealing with theoretical and empirical issues in the areas of Islamic comprehensive development and other related Islamic economic growth topics. It prepares students to participate effectively in the theoretical progress of development theories and economic paradigms in general and to propose innovative economic and development policies within an Islamic perspective. In light of Maqasid Al Shariah, the Qatar National Vision and UN Sustainable Development Goals, the course helps students to understand the modalities, challenges and opportunities of transforming economies from linear to circular.

Applied Econometrics

This course aims to present and discuss the most important statistical methods in applied economics and finance relevant for emerging economies centered on local aspirations. Students are expected to learn and be able to apply the different types of appropriate and relevant econometric techniques in their research.

Islamic Financial Structuring: Strategies and Contracts

This aims to equip students with the tools to structure Islamic finance contracts for different economies - transforming from linear to circular and in the rapidly changing market, technological and regulatory environment. Students will be able to link the design of financial contracts with the needs of a circular economy. They will learn how to structure green, social and sustainable financial products to meet the needs for liquidity management, personal finance, SME finance, bridge finance, and long-term finance etc. The course also elaborates on alternative Sukuk structures and the different ways of designing Sukuk, such as contract combinations.

Entrepreneurship: Ethics and Sustainability

The course aims to equip students with a deep understanding of the pivotal role played by entrepreneurs in developing businesses and promoting inclusive and sustainable economic growth and wealth. Entrepreneurship is a vision combined with the abilitiy and skill to put together economic resources to benefit society. It is designed to embed entrepreneurship with ethics and a love of fellow human beings and other species to achieve the vision of “being merciful to all." It uses Islamic social finance as a supportive and enabling institutional mechanism in developing social enterprises.

 

 

ELECTIVE COURSES (6 credit hours)

Advanced Corporate Finance and Investment

This course will provide students with sound theoretical and empirical knowledge and techniques of corporate finance with applications to Islamic finance and the circular economy. The aim is to encourage  students to carry out research in this field and sharpen their critical perspective with respect to corporate finance issues. Upon successful completion of the course, students will be able to both understand and analyze terminologies and explore the frontiers of modern corporate finance and corporate governance.

Advanced Topics in Micro and Macro Economics: Islamic Perspectives

This course will focus on the analytical tools of Modern Microeconomics and Macroeconomics and analyze the strategic behavior of rational decision-making in situations of conflict and other interactions. It also attempts to equip students with the macroeconomic frontier issues relevant for their research in the area of policies on Islamic banking and finance and Islamic economics.

International Islamic Economic and Financial Relations

The aim of this course is to enable students to understand contemporary development in the theories and practices of international economics, the economics of international giants and international institutions, international financial relations and their interactions with domestic policies and developments.

Islamic Social Finance and Empowerment

The third sector translated into social finance plays a very important role in the economies of many countries and the Islamic system gives it a very prominent role in correcting the inequalities that result from the functional distribution of wealth and income. This course aims to put forward a deep understanding of the economics of Islamic philanthropy as it includes ethical and application issues in addition to Islamic human rights of the vulnerable and deprived. The course builds on the venture philanthropy concept to develop socially responsible micro and medium businesses in the circular economy.

Islamic Economic History and Thought

This course is aimed at developing critical thinking to develop innovative solutions and approaches by looking at the history of thought and institutions in an objective way. Students will raise critical questions and try linking these with current practices and offer guided solutions.

Governance Legal and Regulatory Issues of Islamic Financial Institutions

This course aims to help students understand the institutional building blocks and the architectural foundations as well as financial infrastructures that are needed for a sound and resilient Islamic financial services industry to function. It also aims to enable them to understand why and how Islamic financial services are regulated and the legal environment under which Islamic financial services are being offered globally. The students will be able to critically asses the Shariah governance process for a circular economy. They are expected to undertake case studies about the state of integrated reporting.

Advanced Risk Management of Islamic Financial Institutions

This course aims to provide a better understanding of various types of risks that are embedded in the banking business in general and relate these to the risks underlying Islamic banks and financial institutions; to understand the importance of risk management in the banking industry in general, and in the Islamic banking industry in particular.

 

Financial Analysis and Portfolio Modelling

This course aims to enable students to analyze the financial statements of companies, NGOs (for example, Waqf) and financial institutions, especially banks from various perspectives including those of investor or potential investor, lender (bank credit analysis), manager (to improve performance) and donor (to ensure the effectiveness of charitable programs.) The course also aims to give a thorough grounding in portfolio management and evaluation/assessment. While there are different topics that must be analyzed or studied on investment companies, the course focuses on the most recent innovations in asset allocation with a special view on the practical implementation of asset allocation models and their evaluation from the perspectives of Islamic finance.

برنامج الدكتوراه في التمويل الإسلامي والاقتصاد
warning

أُغلق الآن باب القبول في برنامج الدكتوراه في التمويل الإسلامي والاقتصاد للعام الدراسي 2019-2020. للحصول على معلومات بخصوص التقديم للعام الدراسي 2020-2021، يُرجى متابعة موقعنا الإلكتروني بصفة مستمرة، حيث سنوافيكم بالجديد على مدار الأشهر القليلة القادمة.

برنامج الدكتوراه في التمويل الإسلامي والاقتصاد

برنامج الدكتوراه في التمويل الإسلامي والاقتصاد

يُعد برنامج الدكتوراه في التمويل الإسلامي والاقتصاد أحد البرامج المبتكرة ومتعددة التخصصات التي تزود الطلاب بالمهارات التحليلية والبحثية اللازمة لفهم وتحليل وتفسير حلول الخدمات والتعاملات المالية الإسلامية التي تنمو بوتيرة سريعة، ولمواجهة التحديات الناشئة والاستفادة من الفرص المتاحة.

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

يركز البرنامج على الأولويات الوطنية التي تشتمل عليها رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030، وكذلك تحقيق الطموحات الوطنية التي تزخر بها غايات الشريعة والأهداف العالمية مثل أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة. كما أن الدافع الرئيس لهذا البرنامج يكمن في تطوير مقاربات فريدة ومبتكرة تخدم التحول المستمر للاقتصاديات لتكون أكثر مسؤولية وشموليةً ومرونة؛ بغرض تعزيز الرخاء والرفاة المشترك. 

تكمن الأهمية الأكاديمية لبرنامج الدكتوراه في التمويل الإسلامي والاقتصاد من خلال واقع المؤسسات الدولية التي باتت تعترف بشكل متزايد بالسياسات ذات العلاقة بالتمويل الإسلامي. ومع نمو الخدمات المالية الإسلامية، والتمويل المسؤول، والمشاريع  صديقة البيئة بوتيرة سريعة، يرتفع معدل خلق فرص التوظيف وتوفير مزيد من الخدمات المجتمعية. يستطيع خريجو هذا البرنامج العمل في المجال الأكاديمي، وفي إدارة الثروات والخدمات الاستشارية بالمؤسسات الوطنية والإقليمية والعالمية. 


تركيز البرنامج

يركز البرنامج على الاقتصاد والأعمال في قطر وفقًا ’للمحاور الأربعة‘ الواردة ضمن رؤية قطر الوطنية، وتشمل الجوانب الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والبشرية والبيئية، إضافة إلى الفوائد المتوقعة وغير المباشرة على المنطقة والعالم. من هذا المنطلق، يتفرد محتوى البرنامج وفلسفته برعايته للقيم المحلية والأهداف الوطنية والغايات العالمية، ويسعى البرنامج لتطوير التعاون والتآزر بين هذه العناصر من خلال التحول والأعمال الاجتماعية والرخاء والرفاة المشترك في مقاربة متعددة التخصصات. 

تتلخص المحاور الأساسية للبرنامج فيما يلي:

  • الأسس الكمية: مقاربات حول كيفية فحص وتحليل العلاقة بين الاقتصاد والتمويل والشريعة من خلال استخدام منهجيات بحثية نوعية وكمية.
  • دراسات الشريعة: تغطي القدرات اللازمة لتطبيق مبادئ وقيم الشريعة من خلال نظريات وممارسات اقتصادية ومالية، واكتساب مهارات التحليل والابتكار والإبداع. 
  • المشاريع الاجتماعية: لتعزيز الابتكار، والفكر المبدع في مجال الأعمال الحرة واكتساب الفطنة في تطبيق الاقتصاديات الإسلامية والنظريات المالية في دولة قطر، وضمن سياقات أخرى نحو التحول من الاقتصاد الخطي إلى الاقتصاد الدائري. 
  • الاستدامة: لتزويد الطلاب بفهم متعمق للدور المحوري الذي يلعبه رجال الأعمال في تطوير الأعمال، وتعزيز النمو الاقتصادي والثروات بصفة شاملة ومستدامة.
  • التمويل والاقتصاديات المسؤولة: لفهم وتحليل مبادئ الاقتصاد والتمويل الإسلامي بشكل متعمق، حيث يتم إعداد الطلاب للمشاركة الفعالة في إصلاح الممارسات ذات الصلة بنماذج ونظريات التنمية، ولمواجهة المخاوف البيئية والاجتماعية والمخاوف ذات العلاقة بالحوكمة. 

المقررات الدراسية للبرنامج

يتألف البرنامج من (54) ساعة معتمدة ويدرس باللغة الإنجليزية. مدة الدراسة للطلاب الأجانب الحاصلين على منح دراسية تستمر على مدار أربع سنوات كحد أقصى، في حين تصل مدة الدراسة للطلاب المرتبطين بوظائف وأعمال في قطر إلى حوالي ست سنوات.

  • الدورات الأساسية (15 ساعة معتمدة)

  • الدورات الاختيارية ( 6 ساعات معتمدة)

  • الأطروحة (33 ساعات معتمدة)

عرض شروط القبول وطلبات التقديم

الدورات الأساسية (15 ساعة معتمدة)

الموضوعات التطبيقية في أصول الفقه ومقاصد الشريعة

تعرّف هذه الدورة الطلاب على منهجية الاجتهاد في الشريعة الإسلامية؛ لمعرفة أساسيات القواعد الشرعية في الجوانب المالية، وطريقة استخلاصها من المصادر. كما تستهدف الدورة مساعدة الطلاب على فهم أساسيات الاختلاف في مدارس الفقه الإسلامي، وأسباب اختلاف الفقهاء، ووزن الآراء الشرعية على اختلافها. كما تهدف إلى تزويد الطلاب بالمعرفة اللازمة لأهم المفاهيم ذات العلاقة بمقاصد الشريعة وتطبيقاتها في التمويل الإسلامي، وتضمين السياسات ذات الصلة من أجل التحول الاقتصادي من الاقتصاديات الخطية إلى الدائرية.

الاقتصاد الدائري والتنمية الشاملة من منظور إسلامي

 تهدف هذه الدورة إلى تعزيز القدرات التحليلية للطلاب لتناول القضايا النظرية والتجريبية في مجالات التنمية الإسلامية الشاملة وغيرها من الموضوعات ذات الصلة بنمو الاقتصاديات الإسلامية. تعمل الدورة على إعداد الطلاب للمشاركة بفاعلية في تطوير نظريات التنمية والنماذج الاقتصادية بشكل عام، واقتراح السياسات الاقتصادية والتنموية المبتكرة في إطار المنظور الإسلامي.وفي ضوء مقاصد الشريعة ورؤية قطر الوطنية 2030 وأهداف التنمية المستدامة وفقًا للأمم المتحدة، تعمل هذه الدورة على إعداد الطلاب لفهم أنماط تحول الاقتصاديات من الخطية إلى الدائرية والتحديات والفرص المناطة بها.  

الاقتصاديات القياسية التطبيقية

تهدف هذه الدورة إلى استعراض ومناقشة أهم المناهج الإحصائية في الاقتصاديات التطبيقية والتمويل ضمن الاقتصادات الناشئة والراسخة في إطار الطموحات الوطنية. يُتوقع من الطلاب خلال هذه الدورة أن يتعلموا ويستطيعوا تطبيق أنواع مختلفة من تقنيات الاقتصاديات القياسية المناسبة وذات الصلة في أبحاثهم.

الهيكلة المالية الإسلامية: الاستراتيجيات والعقود

تهدف الدورة إلى تزويد الطلاب بأدوات تتعلق بهندسة وهيكلة عقود التمويل الإسلامي؛ لتلبية الاحتياجات المختلفة للاقتصاديات المتحولة من اقتصاديات خطية إلى دائرية في ظل بيئة تكنولوجية وتنظيمية وسوق يتغيران بوتيرة سريعة للغاية. ويتمكن الطلاب من ربط صياغة العقود المالية باحتياجات الاقتصاد الدائري، ويستوعبوا كيفية تطوير المنتجات المالية والاجتماعية المستدامة التي تلبي احتياجات إدارة السيولة، والتمويل الشخصي، وتمويل الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة، وسد الفجوة التمويلية، والتمويل طويل الأجل ... إلخ. كما تعمل هذه الدورة على توضيح الهياكل البديلة للصكوك وخيارات تتعلق بالقواعد المختلفة لتصميم الصكوك مثل المزج بين العقود.

ريادة الأعمال: الأخلاق والاستدامة

تهدف هذه الدورة إلى تزويد الطالب بفهم متعمق للدور المحوري الذي يلعبه رواد الأعمال في تطوير الأعمال، وتعزيز النمو والثروة الاقتصادية الشاملة والمستدامة. وتُمثل ريادة الأعمال رؤية مقترنة بالقدرات والمهارات اللازمة لتوحيد الموارد الاقتصادية بطريقة ما تجلب فائدة مجتمعية. صُممت هذه الدورة للمزج بين ريادة الأعمال والقيم الأخلاقية وحب الأخرين من بني البشر والمخلوقات الأخرى؛ بغرض تحقيق رؤية "كن رحيمًا" مع الجميع. ويستخدم التمويل الاجتماعي الإسلامي كآلية مؤسسية للدعم والتمكين فيما يتعلق بتطوير المؤسسات الاجتماعية.

الدورات الاختيارية (6 ساعات معتمدة)

تمويل الشركات المتقدم والاستثمار

تزود هذه الدورة الطلاب بالمعرفة النظرية والتجريبية السليمة، وتقنيات تمويل الشركات، فضلاً عن تطبيقات التمويل الإسلامي والاقتصاد الدائري؛ بهدف استنهاض فضول الطلاب لموضوعات بحثية في هذا المجال، وصقل تصوراتهم النقدية فيما يتعلق بقضايا تمويل الشركات. مع نهاية الدورة، سيكون الطلاب قادرين على فهم وتحليل المصطلحات، واستكشاف حدود تمويل وحوكمة الشركات في العصر الحديثة.

موضوعات متقدمة في الاقتصاديات الجزئية والكلية من منظور إسلامي

تركز هذه الدورة على الأدوات التحليلية للاقتصاديات الجزئية والاقتصاديات الكلية الحديثة، وتحليل السلوك الاستراتيجي وعقلانية صناعة القرار في مواقف الصراع والتفاعلات الأخرى. كما تسعى هذه الدورة إلى تزويد الطلاب بالمعرفة حول قضايا الحدود الاقتصادية الكلية ذات الصلة بأبحاثهم في مجال السياسات المتعلقة بالقطاع المصرفي الإسلامي والتمويل والاقتصاديات الإسلامية.

العلاقات الاقتصادية والمالية الدولية والإسلامية

تهدف هذه الدورة إلى تمكين الطلاب من فهم التطور المعاصر في نظريات وممارسات الاقتصاديات العالمية، والاقتصاديات العملاقة والمؤسسات الدولية، والعلاقات المالية العالمية وتفاعلاتها مع السياسات والمستجدات المحلية.

التمكين والتمويل الاجتماعي الإسلامي

يلعب القطاع الثالث أو ما يُعبر عنه بالتمويل الاجتماعي دورًا مهمًا جدًا في اقتصاديات العديد من الدول، ويمنحه النظام الإسلامي دورًا بارزًا للغاية في تصحيح الفروقات الناتجة عن التوزيع العملي للثروة والدخل. وتهدف هذه الدورة إلى تقديم فهم عميق لاقتصاديات العمل الخيري الإسلامي حيث يشمل قضايا أخلاقية وتطبيقية، إضافة إلى حقوق الإنسان ذات الطبيعة الإسلامية للفئات المجتمعية الضعيفة والمحرومة، وتبني الدورة على مفهوم العمل الخيري لتطوير المشاريع الصغيرة والمتوسطة ذات المسؤولية الاجتماعية في الاقتصاد الدائري. 

الفكر والتاريخ الاقتصادي الإسلامي

تهدف هذه الدورة إلى تطوير التفكير النقدي لتطوير الحلول والمنهجيات المبتكرة من خلال النظر في تاريخ الفكر والمؤسسات بطريقة موضوعية. وسوف يطرح الطلاب الأسئلة الهامة، مع محاولة ربط هذه الأسئلة بالممارسات الحالية وتقديم الحلول الموجهة.

القضايا القانونية والتنظيمية لحوكمة المؤسسات المالية الإسلامية

تهدف هذه الدورة إلى إعداد الطلاب لفهم المكونات المؤسسية والأسس الهيكلية، إضافة إلى البنى التحتية المالية اللازمة لعمل قطاع الخدمات المالية الإسلامية بطريقة سليمة ومرنة. وتهدف إلى تمكين الطلاب من فهم أسباب وكيفية تنظيم الخدمات المالية الإسلامية والبيئة القانونية التي يتم بموجبها تقديم الخدمات المالية الإسلامية في جميع أنحاء العالم. وسيتمكن الطلاب من تقييم عملية حوكمة الشريعة بشكل نقدي لفائدة الاقتصاد الدائري، ويتوقع من الطلاب إجراء دراسات حالة حول رفع التقارير المتكاملة. 

إدارة المخاطر المتقدمة في المؤسسات المالية الإسلامية

تهدف هذه الدورة إلى توفير استيعاب أفضل لمختلف أنواع المخاطر التي تنطوي عليها الأعمال المصرفية بشكل عام وربط هذه المخاطر التي تتعلق بالبنوك الإسلامية والمؤسسات المالية، وفهم أهمية إدارة المخاطر في القطاع المصرفي بشكل عام وفي القطاع المصرفي الإسلامي على وجه الخصوص.

التحليل المالي وتصميم المحافظ

تهدف هذه الدورة إلى تمكين الطلاب من تحليل البيانات المالية للشركات، والمنظمات غير الحكومية (على سبيل المثال الوقف) والمؤسسات المالية، وخاصة البنوك من وجهات نظر متنوعة بما في ذلك المستثمر أو المستثمر المحتمل، والمقرض (تحليل الائتمان المصرفي)، والمدير (لتحسين الأداء) والجهة المانحة (لضمان فاعلية البرامج الخيرية). كما تهدف الدورة إلى توفير أسس شاملة لإدارة المحافظ وتقييمها. وبينما تحتاج المواضيع المختلفة للتحليل والدراسة وتطبيقها على شركات الاستثمار، تركز الدورة على أحدث الابتكارات في تخصيص الأصول مع تركيز خاص على التنفيذ العملي لنماذج تخصيص الأصول، وتقييمها من منظور التمويل الإسلامي.