Master of Arts in Women, Society and Development
Master of Arts in Digital Humanities and Societies

Master of Arts in Women, Society and Development

A two-year program focusing on women's studies in general and Arab women in particular. It draws from a variety of disciplines, including economic and social theory; development and policy studies; and law and communication studies.

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

The MA in Women, Society and Development is a two-year interdisciplinary program focusing on issues related to women in the context of social and economic development in the Middle East, as well as women’s various roles in the advancement of their communities and societies. It draws on a variety of disciplines in social sciences and humanities, ranging from economic and social theory, to development and policy studies, to law and communication studies.

The program fulfills Qatar’s aspiration to contribute to global sustainable development in matters related to women and gender issues. It also provides the nation with a think-tank capability on women-related issues that can be used for coherent national policy-making that crosses the commercial, health, education and family sectors.

The program is open to all those interested in developing expertise in a wide variety of issues related to women, society and development in the Middle East.


Graduates of the program are equipped to:

 

  • Engage in local and regional knowledge production, and to enhance their skills in understanding and responding to women’s issues that are specific to the Middle East.
  • Pursue careers in different fields such as research, higher education, consulting entities, media firms, diplomatic entities, and national, regional and international non-governmental organizations.
  • Pursue advanced research at PhD level.

The launch of an MA program focusing on Arab women's studies marks another milestone in Qatar’s track record, as it comes at a time when the entire world is calling for the development of education systems.”

His Excellency Dr. Hamad bin Abdulazeez Al-Kuwari, Adviser at Amiri Diwan and Qatar’s candidate for the Director-General post at the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Structure:

  • A two-year, full-time program that requires 39 credits with three departmental core courses, three program core courses, three electives, an internship – or an independent research project, and a thesis.
  • All courses are taught in English.

Curriculum:

Students are taught by faculty members of CHSS who are leading scholars and researchers in their fields, or by distinguished visiting professors and experts working in the field of Middle Eastern Studies. Students are introduced to professional activity through an internship at world-renowned professional institutions both locally and internationally.

View Admission & Application Requirements

ماجستير الآداب في دراسات المرأة في المجتمع والتنمية
ماجستير الآداب في دراسات المرأة في المجتمع والتنمية

ماجستير الآداب في دراسات المرأة في المجتمع والتنمية

يستغرق البرنامج سنتين، ويركز على دراسات المرأة عامة وفي العالم العربي خاصة. ويتضَّمن البرنامج مقرَّرات متنوعة تشمل: الاقتصاد والنظريات الاجتماعية، ودراسات التنمية والسياسات ذات العلاقة، ودرسات في مجالي القانون والاتصالات. 

 

ماجستير الآداب في دراسات المرأة في المجتمع والتنميةماجستير الآداب في دراسات المرأة في المجتمع والتنمية هو برنامج متعدد التخصصات، يُعنى بقضايا المرأة في سياق التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية التي تشهدها منطقة الشرق الأوسط. ويتيح هذا البرنامج للطلاب فهمًا معمّقًا إزاء القضايا الرئيسة التي تواجه المرأة في المنطقة، والأدوار المتعددة التي كانت ومازالت تضطلع بها في سبيل تحقيق التنمية المنشودة لمجتمعها.

يستند هذا البرنامج إلى مجموعة متنوعة من التخصصات والمجالات في العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية، التي تشمل النظريات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية، والدراسات التنموية والسياسية، إضافة إلى دراسات في مجالي التاريخ والاتصال. 
 


يُعدّ البرنامج الخريجين ليتمكنوا من:

  • الانخراط في تعزيز المعرفة المحلية والإقليمية، وتعظيم مهاراتهم في فهم ومعالجة لقضايا المرأة ذات الصلة بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط.
  • الالتحاق بالمسارات الوظيفية في مختلف المجالات والكيانات، مثل البحوث والتعليم العالي والهيئات الاستشارية وشركات الإعلام والهيئات الدبلوماسية والمنظمات غير الحكومية الوطنية والإقليمية والعالمية.
  • متابعة البحوث المتقدمة على مستوى درجة الدكتوراه.
     

أهداف البرنامج

  • يتولى تدريس مقررات البرنامج هيئة التدريس في كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية، التي تضم علماء وباحثين بارزين في مجالاتهم وأساتذة زائرين وخبراء متميزين يعملون في مجال الدراسات الشرق اوسطية.

  • وخلال البرنامج، يتعرض الطلاب لخبرات عملية من خلال التدريب والأنشطة الاحترافية لدى مؤسسات متخصصة ومعروفة عالميًا سواء على الصعيدين المحلي أو العالمي.

المقرَّرات الدراسية

يدرَّس البرنامج على مدار سنتين بدوام كامل، ويتألف من 39 ساعة معتمدة، ويشمل الآتي: ثلاث مقررات دراسية أساسية بالقسم وثلاث مقررات أساسية في إطار البرنامج، وثلاث مقررات اختيارية، وبرنامج تدريبي، أو مشروع بحثي مستقل، وأطروحة تخرج. وتدرس جميع المقررات الدراسية باللغة الإنجليزية.