The MENA Women in Law Initiative | HBKU
Hamad Bin Khalifa University

Events

Lawyering in the Time of Pandemics The MENA Women in Law Initiative

28Oct2020
  • 03:30 PM - 04:30 PM
  • College of Law
  • Webex Events
The MENA Women in Law Initiative

This seminar will allow for a debate on the impact of COVID-19 on the legal profession and will focus on what it means to be a lawyer and provider of legal services in the new digital reality. In addition, HBKU’s College of Law will host the launch of a regional initiative for women lawyers that will enable the sharing of information and knowledge and the development of important professional relationships.  

Founded in early 2020 by leading women lawyers in Qatar, the MENA Women in Law Initiative is an informal network of women legal professionals. After collecting feedback from peers, the group elected to establish a platform spanning the entire MENA region seeking to transcend borders and diverse working practices and cultures, among other objectives, to foster innovative and supportive dialogue among women legal professionals. This initiative will also help prepare the region’s women lawyers to effectively tackle future challenges. 

Chair: 

Dr. Susan L. Karamanian, Dean, CL

Speakers:

Ms. Francoise Mouly, Co-founder of the Innovation Centre for Education (iCE) Doha LLC (G)
Dr. Julie Boisard-Pétrissans, Founder of ParteM Advisory
Dr. Oriane Ginies, Senior Legal Counsel at BeIN Sports
Ms. Asma Al Khulaifi, Trade Lawyer, Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Qatar; CL, JD (2018)

Biographies

Dr. Oriane Ginies is an international lawyer with 14 years of experience in governmental and private fields specialized in cybersecurity, data protection, and telecommunication regulation. A senior legal counsel for beIN Sports Qatar, she is also certified as a career and life coach, data privacy officer, and a speaker and author of numerous legal textbooks. 

Asma Al Khulaifi is a graduate of Georgetown School of Foreign Service, HBKU’s College of Law, and the Geneva Graduate Institute for International and Development Studies. She currently works at theMinistry of Commerce and Industry as a trade lawyer, where she advises on legal matters relating to Qatar’s membership at the World Trade Organization. Her law and policy experience also includes roles at Qatar’s Ministry of Education as well as the Education Above All Foundation, where she worked to defend education for all, especially the right to education for women and girls.

Francoise Mouly worked as a legal adviser in corporate finance in London, before completing a postgraduate degree in Art History.. Moving from London to Geneva, Barcelona and Amsterdam, and now Doha, she co-founded the Innovation Centre for Education (iCE) Doha LLC(G), a non-profit entity licensed by the Qatar Financial Centre Authority, focusing on driving innovative transformations in a wide array of areas, from legal technologies to interactive art.  

Dr. Julie Boisard-Pétrissans worked as a legal consultant in London and Paris, then joined LexisNexis (world-leader legal information and technologies service provider), where she focused on the MENA region as a business development manager and head of operations in Qatar. In 2019, she founded a consultancy, ParteM Advisory, with the aim of sharing her experience as an innovative entrepreneur in a multi-cultural environment.

Register now

مبادرة النساء العاملات في القانون بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط
Hamad Bin Khalifa University

الفعاليات

المحاماة في زمن الأوبئة مبادرة النساء العاملات في القانون بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

28أكتوبر2020
  • 03:30 مساءً - 04:30 مساءً
  • كلية القانون
  • منصة ويبكس للفعاليات
مبادرة النساء العاملات في القانون بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

سوف تسمح هذه الندوة بإجراء مناقشات حول تأثير فيروس كوفيد-19 على مهنة المحاماة، وستركز على معنى أن تكون محاميًا ومقدمًا للخدمات القانونية في الواقع الرقمي الجديد.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، سوف تستضيف كلية القانون بجامعة حمد بن خليفة حفل إطلاق مبادرة إقليمية للمحاميات ستُمكن من تبادل المعلومات والمعرفة وتطوير العلاقات المهنية المهمة.

تأسست مبادرة النساء العاملات في القانون بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا في أوائل عام 2020 من قبل محاميات رائدات في قطر، وهي شبكة غير رسمية من المتخصصات في القانون. وبعد أخذ آراء زميلات التخصص، اختارت المجموعة إنشاء منصة تمتد عبر منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، تسعى لعبور الحدود وتعزيز ممارسات وثقافات العمل المتنوعة، إضافة إلى أهداف أخرى، من أجل تعزيز الحوار المبتكر والداعم بين المتخصصات في القانون. وستساعد هذه المبادرة في إعداد المحاميات في المنطقة للتصدي بفاعلية لما سيواجهنه من تحديات في المستقبل.

رئيس الندوة

الدكتورة سوزان كارامانيان، عميد كلية القانون بجامعة حمد بن خليفة

المتحدثون:

فرانسواز مولي، مؤسِّس مشارك لمركز الابتكار في التعليم الدوحة ذ.م.م.
الدكتورة جولي بويسارد- بتريسان، مؤسِّس شركة بارت إم للاستشارات
الدكتورة أوريان جيني، مستشار قانوني أول بشبكة قنوات بي إن سبورتس
أسماء الخليفي، محامية تجارية بوزارة الاقتصاد والصناعة، قطر، خريجة برنامج "دكتور في القانون" من كلية القانون (دفعة 2018).

السير الذاتية

الدكتورة أوريان جيني، محامٍ دولي، تتمتع بخبرة 14 عامًا في القطاعين الحكومي والخاص في نطاق الأمن السيبراني وحماية البيانات وتنظيم الاتصالات. وهي مستشار قانوني أول في شبكة قنوات بي إن سبورتس، قطر، وهي أيضًا مدربة معتمدة في الجوانب المهنية والحياتية، ومسؤولة عن خصوصية البيانات، ومتحدثة ومؤلفة للعديد من الكتب في مجال القانون.
 

أسماء الخليفي خريجة كلية الشؤون الدولية بحامعة جورجتاون في قطر، وكلية القانون بجامعة حمد بن خليفة، والمعهد العالي للدراسات الدولية والإنمائية في جنيف. تعمل أسماء حاليًا محامية في وزارة التجارة والصناعة، حيث تقدم استشارات بشأن الجوانب القانونية المتعلقة بعضوية قطر في منظمة التجارة العالمية. تشمل خبرتها في القانون والسياسات أيضًا مهامًا تولتها في وزارة التعليم والتعليم العالي في قطر، وكذلك مؤسسة التعليم فوق الجميع، حيث دافعت عن حق الجميع في التعليم، وخاصة حق المرأة والفتاة في التعليم.

عملت فرانسواز مولي كمستشار قانوني في تمويل الشركات في لندن، قبل أن تحصل على درجة في الدراسات العليا في تاريخ الفن. انتقلت من لندن إلى جنيف وبرشلونة وأمستردام، والآن في الدوحة، حيث شاركت في تأسيس مركز الابتكار في التعليم بالدوحة، وهو كيان غير ربحي معتمد من قبل هيئة مركز قطر للمال، وتركز على قيادة التحولات المبتكرة في مجموعة واسعة من المجالات، بما فيها التقنيات القانونية والفن التفاعلي.

عملت الدكتورة جولي بويزارد بيتريسانس مستشارًا قانونيًا في لندن وباريس، ثم انضمت إلى شركة ليكساس نيكساس، وهي تقدم خدمات المعلومات والتقنيات القانونية الرائدة عالميًا، حيث ركزت على منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا كمدير لتطوير الأعمال ورئيس للعمليات في دولة قطر. في عام 2019، أسست شركة استشارية، وهي بارتيم أدفايزوري، بهدف مشاركة تجاربها كرائدة أعمال مبتكرة في بيئة متعددة الثقافات.

سجل الآن