ICSEWEN19 | Hamad Bin Khalifa University
International Conference on Sustainable Energy-Water-Environment Nexus in Desert Climate 2019

International Conference on Sustainable Energy-Water-Environment Nexus in Desert Climate 2019

qeeri

ABOUT THE CONFERENCE

Qatar Environment and Energy Research Institute (QEERI) is organizing a specialized conference in December 2019 to address the challenges and opportunities in the Energy-Water-Environment (EWE) nexus, in particular the research and technology development requirements for EWE nexus in harsh desert climates. Over 200 researchers, scientists, engineers and stakeholders are expected to attend the four-day event, which will be held at Qatar National Convention Centre from 2-5 December 2019.

Goals and Objectives:

The main goal of this conference is to bring together international experts from academia and industry - as well as relevant stakeholders - to share latest research, technology and innovation developments. Attendees will aim to promote a better understanding of the links between energy, water and environment in order to develop key priority areas for human development and environmental sustainability. One important outcome of this conference will be the impact of the EWE nexus on food security. The conference will help to enhance understanding and find solutions to the specific challenges faced by the intrinsic EWE nexus in harsh desert climates, such as in Qatar. Experts will also discuss how energy and water utilization within the region can be maximized to address water, energy and food security challenges, while fostering a technological environment leading to value creation and impact in society and economy. The conference also aims to bridge the gap between research and industry, and will provide a platform for interdisciplinary dialogue among scientists, researchers, industry partners and policymakers.

The conference is in line with QEERI’s vision and mission of making the institute a reference center at national, regional and international level in the field of energy, environment and water research and technology development, especially for Qatar and the MENA region.

Specific Aims:

  • To identify areas of collaboration on EWE nexus issues on a regional and international scale, and associated technology development and innovative approaches.
  • To understand the challenges and barriers, and to develop potential solutions for relevant issues in the implementation of research in the area of energy, water and environment.
  • To exchange ideas and share knowledge with experts and policymakers from around the world.
  • To bridge the gap between research and industry, and address socio-economic impacts.
  • To highlight the research capacity and capabilities relevant to Qatar and the region on the international stage.

 

Click here to submit your abstract(s)

 

 

Strategic Partner

Kahramaa

ASSELLMU Logo CL Logo
qeeri

المؤتمر العالمي الأول لعلاقة الترابط بين الطاقة والمياه والبيئة
المؤتمر العالمي لعلاقة الترابط بين الطاقة والمياه والبيئة المستدامة 2019

المؤتمر العالمي لعلاقة الترابط بين الطاقة والمياه والبيئة المستدامة 2019

qeeri

نبذة عن المؤتمر

يعقد معهد قطر لبحوث البيئة والطاقة المؤتمر المتخصص في ديسمبر 2019؛ لتناول التحديات والفرص المتاحة في مجال ترابط الطاقة والمياه والبيئة، وبصفة خاصة متطلبات تطوير البحوث والتكنولوجيا اللازمة لترابط الطاقة والمياه والبيئة في المناخات الصحراوية القاسية. يُتوقع أن يحضر المؤتمر، الذي يُعقد على مدار ثلاثة أيام من 3 إلى 5 ديسمبر 2019، بمركز قطر الوطني للمؤتمرات، ما يزيد عن 200 باحث وعالم ومهندس وخبير، بالإضافة لممثلين عن الجهات المعنية.

الأهداف والغايات:

يهدف هذا المؤتمر بشكل أساسي إلى جمع خبراء عالميين في المجال الأكاديمي وقطاع الصناعة، فضلاً عن خبراء من الجهات المعنية ذات العلاقة؛ لتبادل آخر مستجدات البحوث والتكنولوجيا والابتكارات. وسوف يركز الحضور على تحقيق فهم أفضل لترابط الطاقة والمياه والبيئة؛ بغرض تطوير المجالات ذات الأولوية والمتعلقة بالتنمية البشرية والاستدامة البيئية. وسوف يتمخض المؤتمر عن نتيجة هامة تتعلق بأثر ترابط الطاقة والمياه والبيئة وعلاقتها بالأمن الغذائي. وسوف يساعد المؤتمر على تعزيز الفهم واستكشاف الحلول اللازمة لمواجهة تحديات محددة تواجه علاقة الترابط الحقيقي بين الطاقة والمياه والبيئة في المناخات الصحراوية القاسية، كما هو الحال في قطر. وسيناقش الخبراء كيفية تطوير تنقيات الطاقة والمياة في هذه المنطقة لمواجهة تحديات أمن المياه والطاقة والغذاء، وفي نفس الوقت العمل على تعزيز بيئة تكنولوجية تفسح الطريق نحو ابتكار القيمة والتأثير في المجتمع والاقتصاد. ويهدف المؤتمر أيضًا إلى سد الفجوة بين البحوث وقطاع الصناعة، وسوف يوفر منصة لحوار متداخل التخصصات بين العلماء والباحثين والشركاء من قطاع الصناعة وصناع السياسات.

يأتي عقد هذا المؤتمر منسجمًا مع رؤية ورسالة معهد قطر لبحوث البيئة والطاقة بشأن السعي نحو جعل المعهد مركزًا مرجعيًا على المستوى الوطني والإقليمي والعالمي في مجال بحوث الطاقة والبيئة والمياه والتطوير التكنولوجي، لفائدة دولة قطر ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا.

أهداف محددة:

  • تحديد مجالات التعاون بشأن قضايا ترابط الطاقة والمياه والبيئة على المستوى الإقليمي والعالمي، وما يرتبط بها من تطوير تقني ومنهجيات مبتكرة.
  • فهم التحديات والمعوقات، وتطوير الحلول الممكنة للقضايا ذات الصلة بتطبيق البحوث في مجالات الطاقة والمياه والبيئة.
  • تبادل الأفكار والمعرفة بين الخبراء وصناع السياسات من أنحاء العالم.
  • سد الفجوة بين الأبحاث وقطاع الصناعة، وتناول التأثير الاجتماعي والاقتصادي.
  • إبراز القدرات والإمكانات البحثية لدولة قطر والمنطقة على الساحة العالمية.

 

انقر هنا لتقديم ملخصك

 

 

ASSELLMU Logo CL Logo