Master of Arts in Intercultural Communication | HBKU
Master of Arts in Intercultural Communication

Master of Arts in Intercultural Communication

The MA in Intercultural Communication (MAICC) offered by Hamad Bin Khalifa University’s College of Humanities and Social Sciences (CHSS) is the first degree of its kind in Qatar.

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

Students in this program will engage in research, education, and outreach with a view to understanding the challenges of today’s changing intercultural settings in Qatar and worldwide.

The program aims to respond to these changed societal demands, including the need for court interpreting, community interpreting, and medical interpreting – the three mediational forms of interpreting in intercultural settings and work environments that are specific to Qatar. The program will also offer courses on intercultural communication and the use of digital technologies to achieve effective intercultural communication in an inclusive and accessible society.

Additionally, research in the intercultural communication field will generate new policies and e-applications geared towards implementing the outcomes of the distinct features of the program. These program outcomes will lead to the creation of innovative applications fit for heading transformative changes in Qatar and globally.

 


Graduates of the program are equipped to:

 

  • Demonstrate a broad and critical understanding of the main theoretical approaches of intercultural communication and of relevant fields in the Humanities and the Social Sciences for the creation of original research.
  • Judge the relevance of research methods and tools based on their appropriateness to a given context of intercultural communication.
  • Apply appropriate strategies in the solving of intercultural problems in communication settings.
  • Integrate the tools and techniques for managing intercultural communication in organizations within the private, public and non-governmental sectors.
  • Possess and apply the communication skills required in interlinguistic and intercultural communication settings in view of adequacy, norms, and appropriate quality and ethical standards.
  • Acquire the technological literacy and tools required for postgraduate research and professional intercultural communication.

Structure:

  • The MAICC consists of 39 credit hours (18 credit hours of core courses, three credit hours for an internship, nine credit hours for supervised research through thesis, and nine credit hours for elective courses).
  • The degree program can be undertaken as two years full-time and three years part-time study. However, students must complete the MA degree requirements within four years of program commencement.

Curriculum:

The program offers market oriented cross-fertilization core and elective courses, including Introduction to Intercultural Communication, B2B Communication in an Intercultural Environment, Research Methods in Intercultural Communication, Interpreting as Intercultural Mediation, Medical Interpreting in Intercultural Settings, Intercultural Perspectives on Equity and Diversity in Education, Critical Approaches and Future Challenges of Intercultural Communication.

  • Additionally, the MAICC program will liaise with the CHSS Department of Middle Eastern Studies for cross-departmental courses and with Weill Cornell Medicine-Qatar to offer a multidisciplinary curriculum in Intercultural Communication, integrating the use of digital technologies, and the knowledge of societal change management.
     

View Admission & Application Requirements

ماجستير الآداب في التواصل بين الثقافات
ماجستير الآداب في التواصل بين الثقافات

ماجستير الآداب في التواصل بين الثقافات

تُعد درجة ماجستير الآداب في التواصل بين الثقافات، التي تقدمها كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية بجامعة حمد بن خليفة، هي الدرجة العلمية الأولى من نوعها في قطر.

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

ينخرط طلاب هذا البرنامج في إجراء الأبحاث واكتساب المعرفة والوعي؛ بغرض فهم التحديات المرتبطة بالظروف المتعدّدة الثقافات والمتغيرة في الوقت الحالي في قطر وفي جميع أنحاء العالم.

يهدف البرنامج إلى الاستجابة لهذه المطالب المجتمعية المتغيرة، بما في ذلك الحاجة إلى الترجمة الفورية في المحاكم، والترجمة الشفهية في الفعاليات المجتمعية، والترجمة الشفهية في المجال الطبي؛ وهي الأشكال الثلاثة للترجمة اللازمة في بيئات متعددة الثقافات، وبيئات عمل معينة في قطر. وسيقدم البرنامج أيضًا دورات حول التواصل بين الثقافات، واستخدام التقنيات الرقمية، لتحقيق التواصل الفعال بين الثقافات في مجتمع شامل يسهل الوصول إليه.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ستتمخض الأبحاث العلمية في مجال التواصل بين الثقافات عن سياسات وتطبيقات إلكترونية جديدة، موجهة نحو تطبيق المخرجات الناتجة عن الملامح المميزة لهذا البرنامج. وستؤدي مخرجات البرنامج هذه إلى التأسيس لتطبيقات مبتكرة، تناسب التغييرات التحويلية الرئيسية في قطر والعالم.
 


سيكون خريجو هذا البرنامج مزودين بالآتي:

 

  • استعراض فهم واسع ونقدي للمنهجيات النظرية الرئيسية للتواصل بين الثقافات والمجالات ذات الصلة في العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية لإنتاج أبحاث أصلية.
  • الحكم على أهمية الأساليب والأدوات البحثية على أساس ملاءمتها لسياق معين ضمن مجال التواصل بين الثقافات.
  • تطبيق الاستراتيجيات المناسبة في حل مشاكل التداخل الثقافي في أوضاع التواصل. 
  • دمج الأدوات والتقنيات لإدارة التواصل بين الثقافات في هيئات ومؤسسات القطاعات الخاصة والعامة وغير الحكومية.
  • اكتساب وتطبيق مهارات التواصل المطلوبة في أوضاع التواصل بين الثقافات واللغات، في ضوء الكفاية والأعراف ومعايير الجودة والأخلاقيات المناسبة.
  • اكتساب المعرفة التكنولوجية والأدوات اللازمة لإجراء بحوث الدراسات العليا والتواصل بين الثقافات بشكل احترافي متخصص.

هيكل البرنامج:

  • يتآلف برنامج ماجستير الآداب في التواصل بين الثقافات من 39 ساعة معتمدة، منها (18 ساعة معتمدة من الدورات الأساسية، وثلاث ساعات معتمدة مخصصة للتدريب الداخلي، وتسع ساعات معتمدة للبحث الخاضع للإشراف من خلال أطروحة التخرج، وتسع ساعات معتمدة مخصصة للدورات الاختيارية).
  • ويمكن دراسة هذا البرنامج على مدار عامين بدوام كامل، أو خلال ثلاث سنوات بدوام جزئي، على أن يُكمل الطالب متطلبات الحصول على درجة الماجستير في غضون أربع سنوات من بدء البرنامج. 

المقرر الدراسي:

يقدم هذا البرنامج دورات أساسية واختيارية تلبي متطلبات السوق وتستهدف الإثراء المتبادل، بما في ذلك مقدمة في التواصل بين الثقافات، والاتصال بين الشركات في بيئة متعددة الثقافات، ومنهجيات البحث في التواصل بين الثقافات، والترجمة الفورية كأداة وصل بين الثقافات، والترجمة الطبية في ظروف متعددة الثقافات، ووجهات النظر متعددة الثقافات حول الإنصاف والتنوع في التعليم، والمقاربات النقدية، والتحديات المستقبلية للتواصل بين الثقافات.

  • بالإضافة إلى ذلك، سينسق برنامج ماجستير الآداب في التواصل بين الثقافات مع قسم الدراسات الشرق أوسطية التابع لكلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية لتقديم دورات مشتركة بين الأقسام، بالتعاون مع وايل كورنيل للطب – قطر لتقديم دورات دراسية متعددة التخصصات في التواصل بين الثقافات، ودمج استخدام التقنيات الرقمية، والإلمام بإدارة التغيير داخل نطاق المجتمع. 

عرض شروط القبول وطلبات التقديم