Master of Science in Cybersecurity | HBKU
cse

Master of Science in Cybersecurity

A multidisciplinary graduate program addressing issues that ensure secure and reliable operations at all levels of interconnected computing and networking systems.

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

Cybersecurity is a multidisciplinary field addressing issues that ensure secure and reliable operations at all levels of interconnected computing and networking systems. The Master of Science in Cybersecurity is designed to train graduate scholars, professionals, entrepreneurs, leaders, and researchers in the advanced knowledge and skills required to fully understand and implement the technologies, tools, management methods, and policy issues related to cybersecurity.

This Master of Science program not only covers multidisciplinary fields related to cybersecurity technology but also examines policy, ethics, and management related to IT security and cyber threats. The program leverages strong partnerships and collaborations both within HBKU and beyond the university. Delivery of the program involves collaborations with HBKU’s research institutes, most notably with QBRI.

This program also builds on work with industrial and governmental partners, both local and international, who are currently working on critical projects aimed at providing solutions to address global challenges and lead to a safer cyber world, in support of Qatar’s aspirations in this area.

The program offers its students the option of either completing a research thesis or working on an industrial project. The thesis requires in-depth theoretical and research components, while the industrial project offers a route for students to further develop real-world problem-solving experience.

The program includes a core course in leadership and innovation, ensuring that all graduates are equipped with the skills and knowledge to assume leading roles within academic, governmental, and non-governmental organizations.


Program Focus

  • The development of extensive and advanced knowledge in the field of cybersecurity, covering major areas such as applied cryptography, computer and network security, secure software/hardware systems, and cybersecurity policy, management, and ethics.
  • A multi-faceted curriculum covering multidisciplinary aspects that are not only related to cybersecurity technology but also cover policy, management, ethics, and IT security.
  • Hands-on experience with real-world projects related to secure software and hardware design and implementation, secure mobile systems, information security, risk analysis, computer and network forensics, among others.
  • A research thesis or industrial project involving original work related to cybersecurity, guided by world-class faculty members from HBKU, its research institutes, and other stakeholders.

Curriculum

A 33-credit program taught in English, typically over two years, that includes:

  • Four core courses

    Four core courses that provide students coming from diverse backgrounds with a coherent learning environment to tackle issues in cybersecurity.

     

    The core courses are:

    • Research Methods and Ethics in ICT
    • Applied Cryptography
    • Computer and Network Security
    • Security Risk Analysis 
  • Four elective courses

    • Four elective courses covering engineering and computer science topics, in addition to a variety of cybersecurity electives that provide students with a solid base and a depth of knowledge, which fully enables them to understand different aspects of cybersecurity. Additionally, there will be the opportunity to take an elective focusing on entrepreneurship.
  • Two semesters of graduate research seminars

    • Two semesters of graduate research seminars aimed at expanding students’ horizons by offering a broad range of topics, through talks by invited experts and presentations from those working in industry, research institutes, academia, and government institutions and organizations.
  • A nine-credit research thesis or a six-credit industrial project.

View Admission & Application Requirements

ماجستير العلوم في الأمن السيبراني | جامعة حمد بن خليفة
ماجستير العلوم في الأمن السيبراني

ماجستير العلوم في الأمن السيبراني

إنه برنامج متعدد التخصصات لطلاب الدراسات العليا يعالج القضايا التي تضمن التشغيل الآمن والموثوق به على جميع مستويات أنظمة الحوسبة والشبكات المترابطة.

 

ماجستير العلوم في الأمن السيبرانييُعد الأمن السيبراني من المجالات المتعددة التخصصات، ويتناول الجوانب المتعلقة بضمان التشغيل الآمن والموثوق به على جميع مستويات أنظمة الحوسبة والشبكات المترابطة.

وقد صُمِّم برنامج ماجستير العلوم في الأمن السيبراني لتدريب الخريجين والمتخصصين ورواد الأعمال والقادة والباحثين، وتزويدهم بالمعرفة والمهارات اللازمة ليستوعبوا بشكل تام التقنيات والأدوات والمنهجيات المتطورة في مجال الأمن السيبراني، والقضايا والسياسات ذات الصلة بالأمن السيبراني.

لا يغطي برنامج ماجستير العلوم في الأمن السيبراني المجالات المتعددة التخصصات المتعلقة بتكنولوجيا الأمن السيبراني فحسب، وإنما يشمل أيضًا السياسات والأخلاقيات المتعلقة بتكنولوجيا المعلومات والتهديدات السيبرانية. 

ويُعزِّز البرنامج من الشراكات القوية والتعاون الوثيق داخل جامعة حمد بن خليفة وخارجها. كما يهتم البرنامج بالتعاون مع المعاهد البحثية بجامعة حمد بن خليفة، لا سيما معهد قطر لبحوث الحوسبة، والشركاء الصناعيين والحكوميين على الصعيدين المحلي والعالمي، ممن يعملون في المشاريع الحيوية التي تسعى إلى تقديم أفضل الحلول لمواجهة التحديات العالمية، والتقدم نحو عالم أكثر أمنًا من خلال الأمن السيبراني، ودعم طموحات دولة قطر في هذا المجال. 

ويتيح البرنامج لطلابه الخيار: إما استكمال أطروحتهم البحثية، أو العمل على مشروع صناعي. وتتطلب الأطروحة البحثية إجراء بحوث نظرية متعمِّقة، في حين يُقدِّم المشروع الصناعي وسيلة لتطوير تجربة حل المشكلات في العالم الواقعي. ويتضمَّن البرنامج أيضًا دورة أساسية خاصة في مجال القيادة والابتكار؛ حيث يتم التركيز على برامج لتخريج متخصصين مؤهلين لتولي مناصب عليا في المؤسسات الأكاديمية والحكومية وغير الحكومية.


تركيز البرنامج:

  • يُركِّز البرنامج على التطوير الشامل والمعرفة المتقدمة في مجال الأمن السيبراني، ويتناول معظم المجالات الرئيسة، مثل: الأمن السيبراني التطبيقي، وأمن أجهزة الحاسوب والشبكات، وأنظمة أمان الأجهزة، وبرمجياتها، وسياسة الأمن السيبراني وإدارته وأخلاقياته.
  • منهج متعدد الأوجه يغطي جوانب متعددة التخصصات لا تتعلق فقط بتكنولوجيا الأمن السيبراني، ولكن أيضًا تغطي السياسات والإدارة والأخلاق وأمن تكنولوجيا المعلومات.
  • ويُقدِّم البرنامج تدريبًا عمليًّا عن طريق إجراء التجارب على مشاريع حقيقية متعلقة بـتأمين أنظمة الأجهزة وبرمجياتها، وأنظمة تأمين الأجهزة المتنقلة، وتحليل مخاطر أمن المعلومات، والطب الشرعي الرقمي للحاسوب والشبكات، وغير ذلك.
  • تُعدُّ الأطروحة البحثية أو المشروع الصناعي عملًا جوهريًّا يتعلق بالأمن السيبراني، ويُشرف عليهما ثلة من أعضاء هيئة التدريس ذوي الكفاءة العالمية في جامعة حمد بن خليفة، والمعاهد البحثية التابعة لها، وغيرها من الجهات المعنية

المقرَّرات الدراسية :

يتألف البرنامج من (33) ساعة معتمدة، ويُدرَّس باللغة الإنجليزية على مدار عامين، ويتضمَّن:

  • أربع دورات دراسية أساسية لتوفير بيئة تعليمية متناسقة للطلاب ذوي الخلفيات المتنوعة؛ للتعامل مع القضايا المتعلقة بالأمن السيبراني، والدورات التدريبية الرئيسة هي:

    • طرق وأخلاقيات البحث في تكنولوجيا
    • المعلومات والاتصالات `التشفير التطبيقي
    • أمن الحواسيب والشبكات
    • تحليل المخاطر الأمنية
  • أربع دورات دراسية اختيارية

    • تتناول موضوعات متعلقة بعلوم الحاسوب وهندسته، فضلاً عن مجموعة متنوعة من المواد الاختيارية المتعلقة بالأمن السيبراني؛ لتزويد الطلاب بقاعدة علمية معرفية صلبة وعميقة، تُمكِّنهم من استيعاب الجوانب المختلفة للأمن السيبراني. إضافةً إلى ذلك، هناك فرصة لاختيار ما يُركِّز على ريادة الأعمال.

       

  • فصل دراسي يشمل ندوات بحثية لطلاب البرنامج

    • ويضم البرنامج فصلاً دراسيًا على هيئة ندوات بحثية للطلاب؛ لتوسيع آفاقهم من خلال تقديم مجموعة واسعة من الموضوعات، وإجراء المناقشات مع الخبراء المدعوين، والعروض التقديمية للعاملين بالصناعة والمعاهد البحثية والمجال الأكاديمي والمؤسسات الحكومية.
  • أطروحة بحثية تعادل (9) ساعات معتمدة، أو مشروع صناعي يعادل (6) ساعات معتمدة.