PhD in Humanities and Social Sciences | HBKU
Hamad Bin Khalifa University

PhD in Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD in Humanities and Social Sciences

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

The Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Humanities and Social Sciences is the first degree of its kind in Qatar, and one of the few in the world providing students with the philosophical and technical grounding to design and tailor their own interdisciplinary program while being able to specialize through a dissertation.

The program is flexible, accommodating students who wish to apply their interdisciplinary research in a variety of subjects in the fields of humanities and social sciences, while allowing for specializations through a pathway to a PhD in an established field at the time of graduation. It exposes them to identity making, policy-making, development strategies, institution building, leadership guidance, and sustainable development.

Students will draw from a common curriculum and gain skills in interdisciplinary research, yet graduate with a PhD in a field that will offer them strong employment opportunities. Aligned with the objectives of Qatar National Vision 2030, the program equips its students with the personal and professional skills to ensure all graduates are prepared to work globally, with strong sustainability values and connections to the community


Graduates of the program are equipped to:

 

  • Engage with themes and ideas that cut across disciplines
  • Demonstrate expertise in disciplines within relevant fields
  • Demonstrate expertise in theory
  • Acquire knowledge for advancing research towards societal and scholarly impact
  • Produce original interdisciplinary research

Structure:

  • The 54-credit hour degree program taught full-time over a minimum of three years in English includes 18 credits of taught courses and 36 credits of supervised research. PhD students must complete all the PhD degree requirements within seven years of matriculation in the PhD program. Drawing on a pedagogical and research collective, students will partake in a common curriculum, gain competence in interdisciplinary research, yet graduate with a PhD that will support their employment opportunities.
  • All courses are taught in English.

Curriculum:

The curriculum requires students to take the following courses:

    • Explorations in Global Humanities
    • Explorations in Interdisciplinarity
    • Proseminar
    • Dissertation
  • Students will also take three open elective courses for disciplinary breadth. These can be taken from across HBKU programs and other QF campuses.

View Admission & Application Requirements

الدكتوراه في العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية | جامعة حمد بن خليفة
الدكتوراه في العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية

الدكتوراه في العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية

الدكتوراه في العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية

 

الدكتوراه في العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعيةيُعد برنامج الدكتوراه في العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية أول درجة علمية من نوعها في قطر، وأحد البرامج القلائل على مستوى العالم التي تزود الطلاب بقاعدة فلسفية وتقنية لتصميم وتشكيل برامجهم متعددة التخصصات وكذلك مجالات تخصصهم.

يتمتع هذا البرنامج بالمرونة، ويلائم الطلاب الذين يرغبون في تطبيق بحوثهم متعددة التخصصات في العديد من الموضوعات في مجالات العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية، بينما يتيح الفرصة للطلاب للتخصص من خلال مسار الدكتوراه في مجال مقرر ومعترف به وقت التخرج. ويدرب البرنامج الطلاب على صناعة الهوية، والسياسات، واستراتيجيات التطوير والتنمية، وبناء المؤسسات، والتوجيهات القيادية، والتنمية المستدامة.

سوف يستمد ويكتسب الطلاب من المقرر المشترك المهارات اللازمة في البحوث متداخلة التخصصات، ثم يتخرجون وهم حائزين على درجة الدكتوراه في مجال يوفر لهم فرص وظيفية مواتية. يزود البرنامج، الذي يتسق مع رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030، الطلاب بالمهارات الشخصية والمهنية؛ لضمان إعداد جميع الخريجين وتجهيزهم للعمل على المستوى العالمي، مسلحين بقيَّم استدامة قوية وروابط راسخة مع المجتمع.


يزود هذا البرنامج الخريجين بما يلي:

  • الانخراط في الموضوعات والأفكار المشتركة بين التخصصات
  • عرض الخبرة والمعرفة في تخصصات تقع ضمن مجالات ذات صلة
  • عرض الخبرات النظرية
  • اكتساب المعرفة للنهوض بالبحوث نحو إحداث التأثير المجتمعي والعلمي
  • إنتاج بحوث أصلية متعددة التخصصات
     

تركيز البرنامج

  • يشتمل البرنامج على 54 ساعة معتمدة، ويدرس بدوام كامل على مدار 3 سنوات بحد أدنى، بما في ذلك 18 ساعة معتمدة من دورات التدريس، و36 ساعة معتمدة من البحوث التي تجري تحت إشراف هيئة التدريس. ويتعين على طلاب الدكتوراه إتمام جميع متطلبات درجة الدكتوراه خلال 7 سنوات من بدء الدراسة في برنامج الدكتوراه. ويشارك الطلاب، استنادًا إلى الدورات التعليمية والبحوث مجتمعة، في مقرر مشترك، ويكتسبوا الكفاءة في البحوث متعددة التخصصات، ثم يتخرج الطالب حائزًا على درجة الدكتوراه في تخصص يدعم فرصه في التوظيف.
  • تدرس جميع مقررات البرنامج باللغة الإنجليزية.

المقرر الدراسي

يتطلب المقرر الدراسي من الطلاب حضور الدورات والاختبارات التالية:

    • الاستكشاف ضمن العلوم الإنسانية العالمية
    • الاستكشاف متداخل التخصصات
    • ندوة (في تخصص محدد)
    • ثلاث دورات اختيارية مفتوحة (يمكن اختيارها من بين جميع برامج جامعة حمد بن خليفة وغيرها من أفرع جامعات مؤسسة قطر)
    • دراسة الدكتوراه المستقلة
    • الاختبار الشامل للدكتوراه 
    • اختبار الترشيح
    • أطروحة التخرج
       
  • كما يدرس الطلاب ثلاث دورات اختيارية مفتوحة لتوسيع نطاق التخصص، ويمكن أن يحضرها الطالب في عموم كليات جامعة حمد بن خليفة أو في أي جامعة بمؤسسة قطر.