CHSS Admission Requirements | HBKU
CHSS Admission Requirements

CHSS Admission Requirements

Admission & Application Requirements

Applicants seeking admission to the MA Degrees should have a bachelorʼs degree in a relevant field with a strong academic record (minimum 3.0 GPA out of 4) from a recognized university

Applicants seeking admission to the PhD in Humanities and Social Sciences should have a master’s degree in a relevant field with a strong academic record (minimum 3.0 GPA out of 4)  from a recognized university

Applicants to the PhD in Humanities and Social Sciences are required to submit a valid GRE General Test score at the time of application     

Applicants to the PhD in Humanities and Social Sciences, MA in Women, Society and Development and MA in Digital Humanities and Societies are required to submit a valid IELTS score of 6.5 or a TOEFL score of 79 in order to demonstrate their proficiency in English. Applicants can be exempt from this requirement if they meet one of the conditions listed below:

  • The applicant completed their studies at a university in a country where English is the native language 
  • The applicant provides an official letter confirming that they obtained their degree from a university where the medium of instruction is English (if not otherwise exempt)
  • The applicant's first language is English

Applicants to the MA in Audiovisual Translation and the MA in Translation Studies are required to submit an IELTS score of 6.5 or a TOEFL score of 79 in order to demonstrate their proficiency in English. The IELTS or TOEFL score must be no more than two years old. This requirement will not be waived under any circumstances. An English-language related major will not exempt applicants from this requirement, neither will holding any specific passport. Applicants to there programs should also have strong language proficiency in Arabic.

Applicants to the MA in Audiovisual Translation and MA in Translation Studies should have strong language proficiency in Arabic. Applicants will be assessed on their Arabic language skills during the admissions interview and through a written assessment.

Application Requirements

Application

The completed online application form can be accessed here.

Please note that this application is for admissions only., Iinformation on how to apply for funding (where this is an option) is provided to students who have been admitted to the program. 

It is the applicant's responsibility to submit all required documents at the time of application. Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Academic transcripts

Official electronic copies of transcripts and graduation statements should be submitted as part of the online application. Final transcripts  and graduation statements are required for all previous university studies. All transcripts submitted should include an explanation of the grading system. Click here to see a sample grading scale. 

For those who have not completed their current studies, transcripts must include results from the last completed semester of coursework. Transcripts in languages other than English or Arabic must be accompanied with an official translation.

Applicants who are admitted to the program based on copies of or incomplete transcripts will be required to provide original transcripts upon enrollment in order to register for courses.

Standardized test results

Official copies of standardized test results (TOEFL, IELTS, GRE) must be sent directly to HBKU.  

Please refer to the institutional codes below:

  • GRE: 7551
  • TOEFL: 4981
  • IELTS: No code required. Students should ask the IELTS center where they tested to send the IELTS TRF to Hamad Bin Khalifa University, Qatar.

Applicants should also submit copies of their test scores with the online application.

Letters of Recommendation

Applicants to the PhD program should submit two letters of recommendation, preferably from academic referees. Referees should send their letters of recommendation from their professional email directly to  

Letters which are not directly written for this program or which are incomplete will not be accepted.

Click here to download the recommendation form.

Personal Statement of Interest

Applicants should submit a personal statement as part of the online application. The statement should explain why they are applying to the program, and how their studies will contribute to the achievement of their personal and professional motivations (minimum of 300 words, maximum of 500 words). Personal statements that are incomplete or below the minimum word count will not be accepted.  

Research Proposal

Research Proposal Provisional Title 
The title should give a clear idea of the planned research topic.

Research Proposal
Your proposal must include a minimum of 1,000 and a maximum of 2,000 words. The research proposal should include your full name and all the required numbered sections below:

  1. Objectives and Research Questions
    In this section, you will briefly explain the overarching goal of your proposed research. Before writing your proposal, you should carefully consider the key questions you are trying to answer and try to avoid very broad research proposals to make sure that your proposed research is achievable and focused enough to be completed within the planned period.
  2. Significance of Research
    In this section, you will provide an assessment of the existing literature related to your research topic and you will explain in what way your proposed research will enrich the existing literature to demonstrate the originality of the proposed research.
    In this section, you should also explain why your research proposal is important. For example, you can discuss the way that your research will build on the existing literature and why your proposed research is needed and adds value, etc.
  3. Methodology and Indicative Structure
    In this section, you will explain the type of research you plan to undertake, such as conducting a survey, collecting data, doing fieldwork or interviews, etc. You should also discuss how you plan to analyze your research data or findings. Finally, you will enumerate the main sections of the dissertation you plan to write.
  4. Bibliography 
    In this section, you will include the list of the most relevant works related to your proposed research topic.
  5. Planned Research Schedule
    In this section, you will clearly explain how you plan to complete your courses, plan your research activities and write your thesis within the four-year period, given your personal situation (work and family commitment) and given that the first year is a course intensive year during which you will take part in courses and seminars and undertake research training in order to write a publishable research paper.

    The second-year is generally dedicated to data collection or field research and planning your second publishable article. The third-year will be devoted to writing and completing your initial dissertation draft and submitting your second article. The fourth and last year will be dedicated to the examination and the submission of your final dissertation.

    The key questions you will need to answer in this section are: 

    1. What makes you confident that can you finalize your dissertation during the planned duration?
    2. How feasible is your proposed research given this period?
  6. Research Motivations
    Briefly explain why and how you have decided to pursue this research? What motivates your interests?
    How is the proposed research is related to what you have done previously (work, training, publications, general interests, etc.). How will this research help your career? Finally, briefly explain why you want to undertake a PhD with the HBKU College of Humanities and Social Sciences, Hamad bin Khalifa University.

Resume/Curriculum Vitae

Applicants should submit a copy of their current resume or curriculum vitae as part of the online application. This should include the following information:

  • Academic Qualifications
  • Professional Experience
  • Publications
  • Research Projects
  • Academic Awards or Honors
  • Conference Presentations

Identification Document

All applicants should submit an electronic copy of their passport as part of the online application. Nationals and residents of Qatar should also submit their valid Qatari ID. 
 

Student Funding

CHSS provides opportunities for funding on a competitive basis. Further information will be provided to applicants who are admitted to the program.


  • Please do not submit any additional application materials which are not on the list of required items. Any additional materials received will be automatically discarded.
  • HBKU cannot return documents to the applicant once they are submitted.
  • All documents submitted through the online application must be in PDF format. Any documents submitted in a different format will not be accepted.
  • Application deadline for international applicants: February 1, 2021.
  • Application deadline for nationals and residents of Qatar: March 15, 2021.
     
Apply now

شروط القبول وطلبات التقديم | جامعة حمد بن خليفة

انتهت الآن مهلة التقديم للطلبة من داخل قطر وخارجها لفصل الخريف الدراسي ٢٠٢١.
للمزيد من المعلومات حول التقديم لفصل الخريف 2022، يُرجى العودة لمتابعة التحديثات عبر موقعنا الإلكتروني في شهر نوفمبر القادم. وسوف نتواصل مع جميع الطلبة المتقدمين للتسجيل في برامجنا بمجرد صدور قرارات القبول.

شروط القبول وطلبات التقديم

شروط القبول وطلبات التقديم

شروط القبول وطلبات التقديم

يجب على المتقدمين الراغبين في الالتحاق ببرامج ماجستير الآداب بكلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية أن يكونوا حاصلين على درجة البكالوريوس ولديهم سجل أكاديمي معتبر بمعدل تراكمي لا يقل عن (3.0) من (4.0) من جامعة معترف بها. 

ويتعين على المتقدمين الراغبين في الالتحاق ببرنامج الدكتوراه في العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية أن يكونوا حاصلين على درجة الماجستير في تخصص ذي صلة، وحائزين على سجل أكاديمي معتبر  بمعدل تراكمي لا يقل عن (3.0) من (4.0) من جامعة معترف بها. 

ويتعين على الطلاب المتقدمين لبرنامج الدكتوراه في العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية تقديم بيان ساري المفعول بشأن اجتياز الاختبارات القياسية العامة مثل GRE في وقت تقديم الطلب. 

يجب على مقدمي الطلبات لبرنامج الدكتوراه في العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية، وبرنامج ماجستير الآداب في دراسات المرأة في المجتمع التنمية، وماجستير الآداب في العلوم الإنسانية والمجتمعات الرقمية تقديم بيان ساري المفعول بشأن اجتياز اختبار (IELTS) والحصول على معدل 6.5 أو اختبار (TOEFL) بمعدل 79؛ لإثبات كفاءتهم في اللغة الإنجليزية. ويمكن أن يُعفى المتقدمون من هذا الشرط في حال استيفائهم أحد الشروط المذكورة أدناه:

  • أن يكون مقدّم الطلب قد استكمل دراساته الجامعية في إحدى الجامعات في دولة لغتها الأصلية هي اللغة الإنجليزية.
  • أن يقدّم الطالب خطابًا رسميًّا من الجامعة التي أتم دراساته فيها، يؤكد حصوله على درجة جامعية من جامعة تكون لغة التدريس بها هي اللغة الإنجليزية (إذا لم يكن مُعفى لخلاف ذلك).
  • أن تكون اللغة الأصلية للمتقدم هي اللغة الإنجليزية

يجب على مقدمي الطلبات لبرامج ماجستير الآداب في الترجمة السمعية البصرية وماجستير الآداب في دراسات الترجمة تقديم بيان ساري المفعول بشأن اجتياز اختبار (IELTS) والحصول على معدل 6.5 أو اختبار (TOEFL) بمعدل 79؛ لإثبات كفاءتهم في اللغة الإنجليزية. 

ويجب أن يكون الطالب قد حصل على معدله في اختبار IELTS أو TOEFL خلال مدة لا تزيد عن عامين، ولن يتم التغاضي عن هذا الشرط بأي حال من الأحوال. ولن يُعفى المتقدمون من ذوي تخصص يتعلق باللغة الإنجليزية من هذا الشرط، ولن يعفى منه حاملو أي جواز سفر محدد. كما يتعين أن يتمتع المتقدمون لهذه البرامج أيضًا بإجادة اللغة العربية بشكل متميز.

استمارة التقديم

يمكن الوصول إلى نموذج طلب التقديم المكتمل عبر الإنترنت من خلال الضغط هنا.

كما يرجى الانتباه إلى أن هذا التطبيق للتسجيل والقبول فقط، في حين تتوفر المعلومات اللازمة لكيفية التقدم بطلب للحصول على التمويل للمنحة الدراسية (إذا كانت خيارًا متاحًا) للطلاب الذين التحقوا بالفعل بالبرنامج المقدم عليه.

وتقع على عاتق مقدم الطلب مسؤولية تقديم جميع المستندات المطلوبة وقت تقديم الطلب، ولن يُنظر في الطلبات غير المستوفاة.

بيان الدرجات الأكاديمية

يجب تقديم نسخ إلكترونية رسمية لبيانات درجات التخرج، كجزء من إجراءات التقديم عبر شبكة الإنترنت. ويجب تقديم بيانات الدرجات النهائية لجميع سنوات الدراسة الجامعية السابقة. ويجب أن توضح جميع بيانات الدرجات الأكاديمية نظام الدرجات والمعدل.

وأما من لم يستكملوا دراساتهم الحالية، فيجب أن تتضمَّن بيانات درجاتهم نتائج الدورات الدراسية المنتهية للفصل الدراسي الماضي. كما يجب أن ترفق بيانات الدرجات المكتوبة بلغة أخرى غير اللغتين الإنجليزية أو العربية بالترجمة الرسمية.

أما ما يخص المتقدمين الذين تم قبولهم بالبرنامج استنادًا على بيانات درجات غير مكتملة أو نسخ منها، فيُطلب منهم تقديم أصول هذه البيانات عند الالتحاق بالجامعة؛ من أجل التسجيل للدورات.

نتائج الاختبارات القياسية الموحدة

يجب تقديم نسخ رسمية من نتائج الاختبارات القياسية مباشرة إلى جامعة حمد بن خليفة. ويُرجى الرجوع إلى الرموز المؤسسية أدناه:

  • (GRE): 7551
  • (TOEFL): 4981
  • (IELTS):  لا يوجد رمز مطلوب. يجب أن يطلب الطلاب من مركز (IELTS)، الذي خضعوا فيه للاختبار، إرسال شهادة (IELTS)  إلى جامعة حمد بن خليفة.

ويجب كذلك على المتقدمين تقديم نسخ من درجاتهم في الاختبار مقرونة باستمارة التقديم عبر شبكة الإنترنت.
 

خطابات التوصية

يجب على المتقدمين للالتحاق ببرنامج الدكتوراه توفير خطابين من خطابات التوصية، ويفضل أن يصدرا عن مُحكمين أكاديميين. وعلى المحكمين إرسال خطابات التوصية من خلال البريد الإلكتروني الخاص بالعمل إلى:  qa ، ويجب أن يذكر الخطاب اسم الطالب والبرنامج المتقدم له ضمن عنوان البريد الإلكتروني. 

لن تُقبل الخطابات التي لم تُكتب مباشرة لهذا البرنامج، أو غير المكتملة.

انقر هنا لتحميل نموذج خطاب التوصية.

بيان الرغبة الشخصية

يجب على المتقدم إرفاق بيان شخصي كجزء من طلب الالتحاق عبر الإنترنت يبين فيه دوافع سعيه للإنضمام لهذا البرنامج، وكيف تساهم دراسته في تحقيق أهدافه الشخصية، متضمنة معلومات عن المتقدم واهتماماته وانجازاته البحثية (فيما لا يقل عن 300 كلمة ولا يزيد عن 500 كلمة كحد أقصى). لن تُقبل البيانات الشخصية غير المكتملة أو ما دون الحد الأدنى من الكلمات المسموح به.

المقترح البحثي

يتعين على الطلبة المتقدّمين لبرنامج الدكتوراه تقدّيم مقترح بحثي ضمن طلبهم المقدّم عبر الإنترنت.

مقترح بحثي بعنوان مؤقت

يجب أن يقدم عنوان المقترح البحثي فكرة واضحة عن موضوع البحث المزمع إجراؤه.

المقترح البحثي

يجب أن يتضمن مقترحك ما لا يقل عن 1,000 كلمة وحتى 2,000 كلمة بحد أقصى. ويجب أن يتضمن المقترح البحثي الاسم بالكامل وجميع الأقسام المطلوبة الواردة أدناه:

  1. أهداف البحث وقضاياه 
    في هذا القسم، عليك أن تشرح بإيجاز الهدف الشامل لبحثك المقترح. وقبل كتابة المقترح، عليك أن تفكر مليًا في القضايا الرئيسية التي تسعى لتناولها، وأن تتجنب المقترحات البحثية شديدة العمومية، وأن تتأكد من أن البحث المقترح قابل للتحقيق ومركّز بدرجة كافية ويمكن إتمامه خلال الفترة المحددة ل.
  2. أهمية البحث
    يتعين عليك أيضًا في هذا القسم أن تقدم تقييمًا لما هو موجود من مواد علمية تتصل بموضوع مقترحك، وأن تشرح الكيفية التي سوف يثري بها بحثك المقترح هذه المواد، وأن تبرهن على أصل مقترحك البحثي. ويتعين عليك أن توضح سبب أهمية مقترحك البحثي. ويمكنك، على سبيل المثال، مناقشة الطريقة التي سيضيف بها بحثك من قيمة لما هو موجود من أبحاث علمية في هذا المجال، وسبب الحاجة إلى هذا البحث المقترح، وما سيضيفة من قيمة، وما إلى ذلك. 
  3. المنهجية والبنية الاستدلالية
    في هذا القسم، سوف تشرح نوع البحث الذي تخطط للقيام به، مثل إجراء الاستبيانات، وجمع البيانات، والقيام بالعمل الميداني وإجراء المقابلات، وما إلى ذلك. كما يجب عليك أيضًا مناقشة كيف تخطط لتحليل بيانات بحثك ومخرجاته. وفي الأخير، سوف تسرد الأقسام الرئيسية للأطروحة التي تخطط لكتابتها.
  4. الفهرس
    في هذا القسم، ستقوم بتضمين قائمة الأعمال الأكثر صلة بموضوع مقترحك البحثي.
  5. الجدول الزمني المقرر للبحث 
    سوف تشرح بوضوح في هذا القسم كيف تخطط لإتمام مقرراتك الدراسية، وخططك بشأن الأنشطة البحثية، وكتابة أطروحتك خلال فترة الأربع سنوات، مع مراعاة ظروفك الشخصية (من التزامات العمل والأسرة)، وبالنظر إلى أن السنة الأولى تشمل دورات عامة مكثفة ستشارك خلالها في ندوات، وستقوم بإجراء تدريب بحثي حول كتابة ورقة بحثية قابلة للنشر.
    والسنة الثانية مخصصة بشكل عام لجمع البيانات والبحوث الميدانية، والتخطيط لمقالك الثاني القابل للنشر. وسوف تخصص السنة الثالثة لكتابة واستكمال المسودة الأولية لأطروحتك، وتقديم مقالتك الثانية. وسيتم تخصيص السنة الرابعة والأخيرة للاختبارات وتقديم أطروحتك النهائية.
    إليك القضايا الرئيسية التي ستحتاج إلى تناولها في هذا القسم:
    1. ما الذي يجعلك واثقًا من أنه يمكنك إتمام أطروحتك خلال المدة المحددة؟
    2. ما هي جدوى البحث المقترح في هذه الفترة؟
  6. دوافع البحث
    اشرح في إيجاز لماذا وكيف قررت الشروع في هذا البحث وما هي الدوافع التي تحفز اهتماماتك؟
    كيف يرتبط بحثك المقترح بما قمت به سابقًا من عمل، وتدريب، ومنشورات، واهتمامات عامة، وما إلى ذلك). وكيف سيساعدك هذا البحث في حياتك الوظيفية؟ وأخيرًا، اشرح في إيجاز سبب سعيك للحصول على درجة الدكتوراه من كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية في جامعة حمد بن خليفة.

السيرة الذاتية

يجب على المتقدمين تقديم نسخة من السيرة الذاتية الحالية مع استمارة التقديم عبر شبكة الإنترنت.

  • المؤهلات العلمية
  • الخبرة المهنية
  • المنشورات
  • مشاريع البحوث
  • الجوائز الأكاديمية وشهادات التقدير
  • عروض المؤتمرات
     

وثيقة إثبات الهوية

على مقدمي الطلبات تقديم نسخة إلكترونية من جوازات سفرهم، كجزء من إجراءات التقديم، عبر شبكة الإنترنت. ويجب على مواطني دولة قطر والمقيمين بها أن يقدموا أيضًا بطاقة هوية قطرية سارية المفعول.
 

المنح الدراسية

تقدم كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية فرصًا للمنح الدراسية وتمويلها على أسس تنافسية، وسوف تتاح المزيد من المعلومات بهذا الخصوص للطلاب المقبولين في هذا البرنامج.


  • يُرجى عدم تقديم أي مستندات إضافية سوى ما ورد بقائمة البنود اللازمة، وسيتم تجاهل أي مستندات إضافية بشكل تلقائي.
  • لن تقوم جامعة حمد بن خليفة برد أي مستندات إلى مُقدم الطلب فور تقدّمه لها.
  • جميع المستندات المقدمة من خلال طلب الالتحاق الالكتروني يجب أن تكون في صيغة PDF، ولن تُقبل المستندات المقدمة بأي صيغة أخرى. 
  • أخر موعد للتقديم للطلاب من خارج قطر: 1 فبراير 2021.
  • أخر موعد للتقديم للطلاب القطريين والمقيمين: 2 مايو 2021.