About QBRI | Hamad Bin Khalifa University
Hamad Bin Khalifa University

About QBRI

Qatar Biomedical Research Institute (QBRI) is a leading research institute under Hamad Bin Khalifa University (HBKU). The institute addresses the Qatar National Health priorities outlined in the Qatar National Research Strategy through its dedicated research centers – the Cancer Research Center (CRC), Diabetes Research Center (DRC) and Neurological Disorders Research Center (NDRC).

QBRI was founded in 2012 as a national center of excellence and a global hub for biomedical and translational research. The institute works to improve and transform healthcare in Qatar through discoveries in the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases, affecting the people of Qatar and populations across the region.

The national center of excellence boasts seven state-of-the-art core facilities including stem cells, genomics, proteomics, structural biology, flow cytometry, advanced microscopy and imaging, and clinical research core.

QBRI works toward the development of novel biomarkers, and diagnostic and therapeutic solutions to facilitate early diagnosis, treatment, and management of select diseases and improve personalized medicine and healthcare.

As a global hub for biomedical and translational research, QBRI continually partners with renowned national and international institutions, enabling the institute to transcend geographical borders and challenges. Above all, QBRI is dedicated to making meaningful contributions to the biomedical field by attracting outstanding scientists, who conduct research in state-of-the-art laboratories featuring a truly unique core technology platform. 

The institute is also committed to supporting the next generation of scientists to become highly skilled researchers through mentoring, advanced scientific and research training opportunities and career guidance. 
 


Research Facility

QBRI is located in the 223,000m2 HBKU Research and Development Complex (RDC), which houses unparalleled state-of-the-art research capabilities. The QBRI building is home to three research centers of excellence and seven core facilities. The institute’s renowned facilities house some of the most sophisticated equipment and research apparatus in the Gulf region and worldwide, under one roof.

QBRI

Inaugurated in 2017, QBRI’s advanced laboratories are major hubs in driving forward cutting-edge research and innovation in Qatar and the region. The facilities are positioned as modern, efficient, reliable and tightly-networked shared resource laboratories to guarantee overarching support and scientific progression on several levels. QBRI’s world-class facilities are actively embedded in a growing national and international collaborative environment, including academic, clinical, and industry partners.

QBRI shares the Research Development Complex with Qatar Computing Research Institute (QCRI) and Qatar Energy and Environment Research Institute (QEERI). The strategically placed shared location creates a unique and combined infrastructure that is specifically designed to comprehensively address the Grand Challenges identified in Qatar National Research Strategy. The proximity facilitates interdisciplinary interaction and the cross-fertilization of ideas in primary research areas.

نُبذة عن معهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي | جامعة حمد بن خليفة
Hamad Bin Khalifa University

معهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي

معهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي مؤسسة بحثية رائدة تعمل تحت مظلة جامعة حمد بن خليفة. يتبنى المعهد الأولويات الوطنية للصحة في قطر، والمحددة في استراتيجية قطر الوطنية للبحوث من خلال مراكزه البحثية المتخصصة: مركز بحوث السرطان، ومركز بحوث السكري، ومركز بحوث الاضطرابات العصبية.

تأسس معهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي في عام 2012 كمركز وطني للتميز ومؤسسة عالمية لبحوث الطب الحيوي التحويلية. يعمل المعهد على تحسين الرعاية الصحية وتطويرها في قطر من خلال الابتكار والاكتشافات العلمية في مجالات الوقاية والتشخيص وعلاج الأمراض التي تؤثر على سكان قطر والمنطقة. 

يفخر هذا المركز الوطني المتميز باحتضانه لسبعة مرافق أساسية تضم مختبرات الخلايا الجذعية، وتكنولوجيا الجينوم، ومنصة البروتينات، وعلم الأحياء البنيوي، والتدفق الخلوي، والمجهر والتصوير المتقدم، بالإضافة إلى مختبر البحوث الإكلينيكية.

يعمل معهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي على تطوير مؤشرات حيوية جديدة وحلول تشخيصية وعلاجية لتسهيل التشخيص المبكر للأمراض وعلاجها وإدارة أمراض محددة وتحسين الطب الشخصي والرعاية الصحية.

وكونه مركزًا عالميًا للبحوث الطبية الحيوية التحويلية، يعقد معهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي بصفة مستمرة شراكات مع مؤسسات وطنية وعالمية مرموقة، ما يمكّن المعهد من تجاوز الحدود الجغرافية ومجابهة التحديات الطبية المختلفة. ويلتزم المعهد في المقام الأول بالمساهمة الفعالة في مجال بحوث الطب الحيوي، ويستمر في دفع العمل نحو المزيد من التقدم من خلال استقطاب العلماء البارزين، الذين تتاح لهم إمكانيةالعمل في أحدث مختبرات البحوث ومنصات التكنولوجيا الحديثة والفريدة. 

كما يلتزم المعهد بتدريب وتطوير الجيل القادم من العلماء ليصبحوا  باحثين ذوي مهارات عالية من خلال توفير الإشراف والإرشاد وفرص التدريب والبحث العلمي المتقدم والتوجيه المهني. 
 


مجمع البحوث

يقع معهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي في مجمع بحوث جامعة حمد بن خليفة الذي تبلغ مساحته 223,000 متر مربع، والذي يشتمل على مجموعة من الإمكانات البحثية المتقدمة والفريدة من نوعها. ويضم مبنى معهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي ثلاثة مراكز بحثية متميزة، وسبعة مرافق أساسية. ويتميز المعهد باحتوائه على بعض من أكثر المعدات والإمكانات البحثية تطورًا في منطقة الخليج والعالم والتي يتيحها المعهد تحت سقف واحد.

معهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي

وتعد المختبرات المتقدمة في معهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي التي اُفتتحت في عام 2017 مراكزًا رئيسيةً لتحفيز البحوث المتطورة والابتكار في قطر والمنطقة. وقد تأسست هذه المختبرات لتكون مواردًا مشتركة حديثة وفعالة وموثوقة وذات شبكة مُحكمة؛ لضمان الدعم المثالي وتعزيز التقدم العلمي على مستويات عدة. وتعد هذه المختبرات جزءًا لا يتجزأ من بيئة وطنية وعالمية متعاونة ومتنامية، تضم شركاء أكاديميين وإكلينيكيين وصناعيين.

يشترك معهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي في مجمع تطوير الأبحاث مع معهد قطر لبحوث الحوسبة ومعهد قطر لبحوث البيئة الطاقة. حيث يوفر الموقع الاستراتيجي المشترك بنية تحتية فريدة مجمّعة، مصممة خصيصًا لمواجهة التحديات الكبرى المحددة في استراتيجية قطر الوطنية للبحوث على نحو شامل. ويسهل القرب أيضًا التفاعل متعدد التخصصات، وتلاقح الأفكار في مجالات البحث الأولية.