Divisions | Hamad Bin Khalifa University
Hamad Bin Khalifa University

Divisions

The College of Science and Engineering is home to the Division of Life Sciences, the Division of Sustainable Development and the Division of Information and Computing Technology. The divisions are firmly committed to excellence in graduate teaching and the training of highly qualified students and personnel in the cutting edge areas that make up their combined broad disciplines. Their faculty members are internationally recognized and pursue high impact research in many of these disciplines.

Division of Sustainable Development

In line with the Qatar National Vision 2030, the goal of the HBKU Division of Sustainable Development is to provide students with a comprehensive training to lead society, industry/business sectors and policy-making processes.

Additionally, it fosters the search for the right balance between development needs, economic growth, environmental protection, human and social progress, and preservation. Various multi-disciplinary programs, at both the MSc and Ph.D. levels focusing on energy and environmental issues, provide students with a solid and fundamental education and broad understanding in the interdisciplinary aspects of sustainability issues that will be used in a wide range of professional positions.

The key goal of the Division of Sustainable Development is to develop students' understanding, analytical and decision-making skills related to sustainability issues through multi-faceted research on pioneering energy, environmental, policy, social and human capital topics that benefit Qatar and the greater Middle East region.

Division of Information and Computing Technology

The Division of ICT at HBKU is committed to perform outstanding research and provide unique educational and training programs in the broad areas of Computer Science, Advanced Computing and Engineering. It offers graduate programs at the Master levels in the areas of Cybersecurity, Data Science and Engineering as well as PhD in Computer Science and Engineering.

These programs have been designed to provide students with a comprehensive and state-of-the-art training within the CSE, producing knowledgeable researchers, entrepreneurs and leaders who are experts of contemporary methods, tools and technologies in computer science and engineering.

This will contribute to building a knowledge-based economy, helping diversify the country’s economy and contributing to a stable and sustainable business environment, which is in line with Qatar National Vision 2030. It is believed students graduating from our program will be prepared to lead our society in innovation and entrepreneurship in the ICT sector.

The field of Information and Computing Technology has had a profound impact on industry, commerce, and society over the last 2-3 decades. ICT is a fundamental discipline training future innovators and industry leaders, addressing challenging research problems, supporting important applications, and offering strong opportunities for business development.

Innovations from ICT have contributed to reshaping our modern society and have supported much of the world’s high-tech economy. Internet, wireless communications, smart phones, Internet-of-Things (IoT), Big data, software engineering, fiber optic communications, medical imaging systems, Artificial Intelligence (AI), computer vision, computer graphics, smart grid and smart water pipes and digital multimedia are just very few of the many technologies arising from ICT. According to a 2014 report by the Association of Computing Machines (ACM), computing is the most in-demand amongst Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) career options for the foreseeable future.

Ground breaking changes and revolution arising from technological development have become a hallmark of ICT. In Qatar, according to the Ministry of Transport and Communications, private and public investment in ICT has been increasing rapidly, to 2.1 billion US dollars in 2010. ICT firms see Qatar as a potential technology hub and want to invest in the country, according to numerous market research studies. Hence, it is critically important that Qatar establishes itself in ICT, which is of special significance and relevance to key technologies for the 21st century and its research will be vital to the solution of the significant problems facing society.

Division of Engineering Management and Decision Sciences

The EMDS division is at the core of engineering, business, and data analytics. The graduate programs within the EMDS are multidisciplinary programs that expose students to innovative decision making methodologies and technologies that are impacting our everyday life. The objective of these programs is to attract diverse and outstanding students from Qatar, the region and the world to develop cutting-edge research. Graduates of the EMDS may choose to pursue careers in:

  • Academia and education
  • Research institutes
  • Logistics and supply chain industries
  • Governmental ministries and agencies
  • Oil and gas, manufacturing, transportation, cargo
  • Engage in startups

الأقسام | Hamad Bin Khalifa University

تضم كلية العلوم والهندسة أقسام عدة، وهي: قسم علوم الحياة، وقسم التنمية المستدامة، وقسم تكنولوجيا المعلومات والحوسبة. وتلتزم هذه الأقسام التزامًا كبيرًا بتقديم تدريس متميز للخريجين، وتدريب على مستوى عالٍ للطلاب، لتأهيلهم تأهيلًا عاليًا، وعلى نطاق واسع، وفق أحدث ما وصلت إليه مجالات تخصصهم العلمي. وتضم الكلية أعضاء هيئة تدريس أكفاء، يحظون بالمكانة العالمية المرموقة، ولهم الكثير من البحوث المؤثرة في كثير من التخصصات.

قسم التنمية المستدامة :

اتساقًا مع رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030، يهدف قسم التنمية المستدامة في كلية العلوم بجامعة حمد بن خليفة إلى تزويد طلاب الدراسات العليا بالتدريب الشامل لقيادة المجتمع، وقطاعي الصناعة والأعمال، والاضطلاع بمهام صناعة السياسات.

إضافة إلى ذلك، يعزز قسم التنمية المستدامة البحث عن التوازن الصحيح بين احتياجات التنمية، والنمو الاقتصادي، والحفاظ على البيئة، والتقدم البشري والاجتماعي. وتُزوّد البرامج الأكاديمية المتنوعة ومتعددة التخصصات على مستوى درجتي الماجستير والدكتوراه، والتي تركز على قضايا الطاقة والبيئة، الطلاب بالمعرفة الراسخة والأساسية، وتُوسّع قدراتهم الاستيعابية للجوانب متداخلة التخصصات ضمن قضايا الاستدامة، التي سوف تُستخدم في عدد كبير من المهام الاحترافية. 

ويهدف قسم التنمية المستدامة بشكل أساسي إلى تطوير فهم الطلاب، وتعزيز مهاراتهم التحليلية، وتلك المتعلقة بصناعة القرارات ذات الصلة بقضايا الاستدامة، من خلال البحوث متعددة الأوجه ضمن موضوعات الطاقة والبيئة والسياسات والرأسمال الاجتماعي والبشري الذي يمكن أن تستفيد منه قطر خاصة، ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط عامة.

قسم تكنولوجيا المعلومات والحوسبة :

يعمل قسم تكنولوجيا المعلومات والحوسبة بجامعة حمد بن خليفة على إجراء بحوث متميزة، وتوفير برامج تعليمية وتدريبية فريدة من نوعها في مجالات واسعة من علوم الحاسوب، وبرامج الحوسبة والهندسة المتقدمة. كما يُقدِّم القسم برامج دراسات عليا للماجستير في مجال الأمن السيبراني، وعلوم البيانات وهندستها، إضافة إلى برنامج الدكتوراه في علوم الحاسوب وهندسته.

وقد صُمِّمت هذه البرامج لتُقدِّم للطلاب تدريبًا عصريًّا شاملًا داخل كلية العلوم والهندسة؛ مما يساعد على تخريج باحثين على درجة كبيرة من المعرفة، ورواد أعمال وقادة على دراية بالأساليب والأدوات والتقنيات المعاصرة في علوم الحاسوب وهندسته.

سيُسهم ذلك حتمًا في بناء اقتصاد متنوع وقائم على المعرفة في دولة قطر، فضلًا عن مساهمته في خلْق بيئة عمل مستقرة ومستدامة، وهو ما يتوافق مع رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030. ولا شك في أن الطلاب المتخرجين من هذه البرامج سيكونون مؤهَّلين تمامًا لقيادة المجتمع، والابتكار، وإدارة الأعمال في قطاع تكنولوجيا المعلومات والحوسبة.

بلغ تأثير تكنولوجيا المعلومات والحوسبة على الصناعة والتجارة والمجتمع على مدار العقدين أو الثلاثة الماضية مداه. ويُعتبر مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات والحوسبة من المجالات الأساسية التي تهدف إلى تدريب المبتكرين وقادة الصناعة المستقبليين، ومعالجة تحديات المشكلات البحثية، ودعم التطبيقات المهمة، وتقديم فرص قوية لتنمية الأعمال.

وقد ساهمت ابتكارات تكنولوجيا المعلومات والحوسبة في إعادة تشكيل مجتمعنا الحديث، وساندت الكثير من اقتصاديات الدول التي تعتمد على التقنية. ويُعد الإنترنت، والاتصالات اللاسلكية، والهواتف الذكية، وإنترنت الأشياء، والبيانات الضخمة، وهندسة البرمجيات، واتصالات الألياف الضوئية، وأنظمة التصوير الطبي، والذكاء الاصطناعي، والرؤية الحاسوبية، والرسومات الحاسوبية، والشبكة الذكية، وأنابيب المياه الذكية، والوسائط المتعددة الرقمية، جزءًا بسيطًا من تقنيات عديدة ناشئة لتكنولوجيا المعلومات والحوسبة. كما سيُصبح مجال ماكينات الحوسبة هو الأكثر طلبًا من بين الوظائف المرتبطة بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والحساب على مدى المستقبل القريب، وذلك وفقًا لتقرير رابطة ماكينات الحوسبة لعام 2014.

أضحت السمة المميزة لتكنولوجيا المعلومات والحوسبة تتمثل في التغييرات الرائدة والثورية الناشئة عن تطور التكنولوجيا، فضلًا عن ازدياد الاستثمارات العامة والخاصة في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات بسرعة كبيرة، وذلك وفقًا لتقارير وزارة المواصلات والاتصالات في قطر، حيث وصلت إلى 2.1 مليار دولار أمريكي عام 2010. وتنظر شركات تكنولوجيا المعلومات والحوسبة، وفق عدد من أبحاث السوق، إلى دولة قطر باعتبارها مركزًا مُنتظرًا للتكنولوجيا، مما يعزز من رغبة هذه الشركات في الاستثمار هناك. وعليه، فإنه من الأهمية بمكان أن تبني دولة قطر نفسها كقاعدة كبيرة في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات والحوسبة، التي تُعتبر بدورها ذات أهمية كبرى واتصال وثيق بالتقنيات الأساسية للقرن الحادي والعشرين، ولا شك أن الأبحاث المرتبطة بهذا المجال ستكون ضرورية وجوهرية لحل المشكلات التي تواجه المجتمع.