About The College of Science and Engineering

Welcome to the College of Science and Engineering at Hamad Bin Khalifa University (HBKU). The College of Science and Engineering (CSE) aims to be a world-class multi-disciplinary college with significant positive impact on Qatar, the region, and globally, in the fields of science, engineering, and technology. To accomplish this, we are advancing knowledge and nurturing technically grounded leaders and innovators through teaching and research across a range of carefully targeted programs. The college aims to serve societal needs, with a focus on an integrated multi-disciplinary curriculum and multi-disciplinary research in science and engineering.

The College of Science and Engineering has established three divisions: 

  1. Division of Information and Computing Technology: with an emphasis on cyber security, computational science and big data, networking infrastructures, HCI, and visualization and graphics.
  2. Division of Sustainable Development: with an emphasis on energy and environment, urbanization, and agriculture & water engineering.
  3. Division of Life Sciences: with an emphasis on biomedical engineering, biological sciences, and bioinformatics.

We accepted a diverse class of excellent students into our inaugural academic and research programs during the academic year 2015-16. These programs being: 

  • Master’s and PhD in Sustainable Energy
  • Master’s and PhD in Sustainable Environment
  • Master’s and PhD in Biological and Biomedical Sciences
  • Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering

 For the 2016-17 academic year, we have been pleased to offer the following additional programs: 

  • PhD in Computer Science and Engineering
  • Master of Science in Data Science and Engineering
  • Master of Science in Cybersecurity

 The delivery of our academic programs benefits from strong collaboration with Hamad Bin Khalifa University’s three national research institutes: 

  • Qatar Computing Research Institute (QCRI)
  • Qatar Energy and Environment Research Institute (QEERI)
  • Qatar Biomedical Research Institute (QBRI)

 And with Qatar campuses in Education City including: 

  • Carnegie Mellon University in Qatar
  • Texas A&M University at Qatar
  • Weill Cornell Medicine - Qatar

 


Dr. Mounir Hamdi

Dean of College of Science and Engineering Dr. Mounir Hamdi

Dr. Mounir Hamdi is the dean of the College of Science and Engineering at Hamad bin Khalifa University. He is an IEEE Fellow, with the fellowship awarded in recognition of his contributions to design and analysis of high-speed packet switching.

Before joining HBKU, he was Chair Professor at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST), and the Head of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering.

He received a B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering - Computer Engineering minor (with distinction) from the University of Louisiana in 1985, and MS and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Pittsburgh in 1987 and 1991 respectively.

He became a founding faculty member in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at HKUST in 1991. HKUST has been ranked number 1 in Asia by QS world ranking for the past two years, and is ranked third in the world for universities under 50 years old. In 2008, he became the Head and Chair Professor of the department, overseeing around 900 undergraduate and graduate students. Under his headship tenure, his department was ranked 13th in the world by QS World Ranking (2013) and 21st in the world by the Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) in 2013.

For 10 years he was the director of the computer engineering program, with around 330 undergraduate students, for three years he was director of the Master of Science in Information Technology program, which has more than 150 graduate students, and he was director of the Computer Engineering Research Lab and the Cyberspace Center. From 1999 to 2000 he held visiting professor positions at Stanford University, USA, and the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, Switzerland.

His general area of research is in high-speed wired/wireless networking and he has published more than 300 research publications on this subject, received numerous research grants, and has graduated more than 40 MS/Ph.D. students. In addition, he has frequently consulted for companies and governmental organizations in the USA, Europe and Asia. He is also a frequent keynote speaker at international conferences and forums on matters related to cutting-edge research and education. Professor Hamdi is/was on the editorial board of various prestigious journals and magazines including IEEE Transactions on Communications, IEEE Communication Magazine, Computer Networks, Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing, and Parallel Computing as well as a guest editor of IEEE Communications Magazine, guest editor-in-chief of two special issues of IEEE Journal on Selected Areas of Communications, and a guest editor of Optical Networks Magazine. He has chaired more than 20 international conferences and workshops including The IEEE International High Performance Switching and Routing Conference, the IEEE GLOBECOM/ICC Optical Networking Workshop, the IEEE ICC High-speed Access Workshop, and the IEEE IPPS HiNets Workshop, and has been on the program committees of more than 200 international conferences and workshops. He was the chair of IEEE Communications Society Technical Committee on Transmissions, Access and Optical Systems, and vice-chair of the Optical Networking Technical Committee, as well as a member of the ComSoc technical activities council. He received the best paper award at the IEEE International Conference on Communications in 2009 and the IEEE International Conference on Information and Networking in 1998. He also supervised the best Ph.D. paper award amongst all universities in Hong Kong.

In addition to his commitment to research and professional service, he is also a dedicated teacher and renowned quality-assurance educator. He received the best 10 lecturers award (through university wide student voting for all faculty held once a year) and the distinguished engineering teaching appreciation award from HKUST, as well as various grants targeted towards the improvement of teaching methodologies, delivery and technology. He is frequently involved in higher education quality assurance activities as well as engineering programs accreditation all over the world.

كلية العلوم والهندسة | Hamad Bin Khalifa University

مرحبًا بكم في كلية العلوم والهندسة بجامعة حمد بن خليفة. تطمح كلية العلوم والهندسة لأن تكون كليةً ذات طراز عالمي، متعددة التخصصات، وذات تأثير إيجابي بارز على مستوى دولة قطر والمنطقة والعالم بأسره. وتحقيقًا لتلك الغاية، فإنها تسعى للارتقاء بالمعرفة، وإعداد القادة والمبدعين على أساس فني وتقني، من خلال العملية التعليمية والبرامج البحثية المبتكرة الموجهة بعناية، مع التركيز على مجالات العلوم والهندسة والتكنولوجيا. وتسعى الكلية إلى تلبية الاحتياجات والمتطلبات المجتمعية، كما تُركِّز على المقرَّرات التعليمية والبحوث المتكاملة المتعددة التخصصات، إضافةً إلى رعايتها للبحث العلمي في مجالي العلوم والهندسة.

أقسام كلية العلوم والهندسة الثلاثة:

  1. قسم تكنولوجيا المعلومات والحوسبة: يُركِّز على الأمن السيبراني، والعلوم الحاسوبية، والبيانات الكبيرة، والبنى التحتية للشبكات، وتفاعل الإنسان مع الحاسوب، وتصميم الصور والرسومات الجرافيكية.
  2. قسم التنمية المستدامة: يُركِّز على الطاقة، والبيئة، والتمدن، وهندسة الزراعة والمياه.
  3. قسم علوم الحياة: يُركِّز على الهندسة الطبية الحيوية، والعلوم البيولوجية، والمعلوماتية الحيوية.

تم قبول مجموعة متنوعة من الطلاب المتفوقين في برامجنا الافتتاحية؛ الأكاديمية والبحثية، خلال العام الدراسي 2015-2016، وتشمل هذه البرامج:

  • الماجستير والدكتوراه في الطاقة المستدامة.
  • الماجستير والدكتوراه في البيئة المستدامة.
  • الماجستير والدكتوراه في العلوم البيولوجية والعلوم الطبية.
  • بكالوريوس العلوم في هندسة الحاسوب.

ويُسعدنا أن نُقدِّم البرامج الإضافية التالية للعام الدراسي 2016-2017:

  • الدكتوراه في علوم الحاسوب وهندسته.
  • ماجستير العلوم في علوم البيانات وهندستها.
  • ماجستير العلوم في الأمن السيبراني.

تستفيد برامجنا الأكاديمية المُقدَّمة من التعاون الوثيق بين المعاهد البحثية الوطنية الثلاثة التابعة لجامعة حمد بن خليفة، والتي تشمل:

  • معهد قطر لبحوث الحوسبة.
  • معهد قطر لبحوث البيئة والطاقة.
  • معهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي.

وبين الجامعات الشريكة في المدينة التعليمية، وتشمل: 

  • جامعة كارنيجي ميلون في قطر.
  • جامعة تكساس إي أند أم في قطر.
  • وايل كورنيل للطب في قطر.

 


الدكتور منير حمدي

عميد كلية العلوم والهندسة الدكتور منير حمدي

يُعدُّ الدكتور منير حمدي، عميد كلية العلوم والهندسة بجامعة حمد بن خليفة، من أبرز الباحثين في العالم، وزميل جمعية مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات، وقد حصل على زمالتها تقديرًا لإسهاماته في تصميم (تحويل الطرود) ذات السرعة العالية وتحليلها.

و قبل انضمامه إلى جامعة حمد بن خليفة، شَغَل الدكتور منير حمدي منصب أستاذ كرسي ورئيس قسم الهندسة وعلوم الحاسوب في جامعة هونج كونج للعلوم والتكنولوجيا.

حصل الدكتور حمدي على شهادة البكالوريوس في الهندسة الكهربائية – تخصص فرعي في هندسة الحاسوب (مع مرتبة الشرف) من جامعة لويزيانا عام 1985. ثم حصل على درجة الماجستير والدكتوراه في الهندسة الكهربائية من جامعة بيتسبرج عام 1987 و الدكتوراه عام1991 من نفس الجامعة.

أصبح الدكتور حمدي أحد أعضاء هيئة التدريس الموسِّسين بقسم الهندسة وعلوم الحاسوب بجامعة هونج كونج للعلوم والتكنولوجيا عام 1991. وتجدر الإشارة هنا إلى أن جامعة هونج كونج للعلوم والتكنولوجيا حازت الترتيب الأول في آسيا وفق التصنيف العالمي للجامعات على مدى العامين الماضيين، كما حازت الترتيب الثالث على مستوى العالم للجامعات الأقل من 50 عامًا. وفي عام 2008، شَغَل الدكتور حمدي منصب أستاذ كرسي ورئيس قسم؛ وكان يشرف حينها على حوالي (900) من الطلاب الجامعيين وطلاب الدراسات العليا. وفي أثناء مدة رئاسته، حاز القسم الترتيب الثالث عشر على مستوى العالم وفق التصنيف العالمي للجامعات عام 2013، ثم حاز أيضًا الترتيب الواحد والعشرين على مستوى العالم وفق التصنيف الأكاديمي لجامعات العالم (ARWU) في العام ذاته.

عمل الدكتور حمدي مديرًا لبرنامج هندسة الحاسوب لمدة عشرة أعوام، بصحبة ما يقرب من (330) طالبًا جامعيًّا. كما عمل لمدة ثلاثة أعوام مديرًا لبرنامج الماجستير في العلوم - برنامج تقنية المعلومات، الذي ضم حينها أكثر من (150) طالب دراسات عليا. وعمل أيضًا مديرًا لمختبر بحوث هندسة الحاسوب ومركز الفضاء السايبري. وشَغَل الدكتور حمدي، عام 1999 و 2000، منصب أستاذ زائر في جامعة ستانفورد بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، والمعهد الفدرالي السويسري للتكنولوجيا في لوزان بسويسرا.

تخصَّص الدكتور حمدي في الشبكات السلكية واللاسلكية، ذات السرعات العالية، باعتباره تخصصًا بحثيًّا عامًّا، ونشر أكثر من (300) منشور بحثي حول هذا الموضوع. وحاز عددًا من المنح البحثية، وتخرَّج على يديه أكثر من (40) طالب ماجستير ودكتوراه. إضافةً إلى ذلك، فقد قدَّم خدماته الاستشارية لعدد من الشركات الخاصة والحكومية في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وأوروبا وآسيا. ويُعدُّ أحد المتحدِّثين الرئيسين في المؤتمرات والمحافل الدولية التي تُعنى بكل ما يتعلَّق بأحدث الأبحاث العلمية والتعليم. وأشرف الدكتور حمدي، وما زال، على مجالس التحرير لعددٍ من الصحف والمجلات العلمية والأكاديمية المرموقة، بما في ذلك مجلة ترانزاكشنز أون كوميونيكيشنز التابعة لجمعية مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات، ومجلة كوميونيكيشنز التابعة لجمعية مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات أيضًا. كما عمل أيضًا في شبكات الحاسوب، والاتصالات اللاسلكية، والحوسبة المتنقلة، والحوسبة المتوازية. وعمل كذلك محررًا زائرًا لمجلة كوميونيكيشنز التابعة لجمعية مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات، ثم عمل رئيس تحرير زائرًا لإصدارين خاصين بمجلة جمعية مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات عن بعض المجالات المنتقاة في مجال الاتصالات، وعمل محررًا زائرًا بمجلة الشبكات الضوئية. وترأس الدكتور منير أكثر من (20) مؤتمرًا دوليًّا وورشة عمل، بما في ذلك مؤتمر جمعية مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات الدولي عن التسيير والتحويل ذي الأداء العالي؛ وورشة عمل جمعية مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات عن الشبكات الضوئية بمؤتمر الاتصالات العالمي؛ وورشة عمل جمعية مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات عن مؤتمر الاتصالات الدولي بشأن الوصول العالي السرعة؛ وغيرها من ورش عمل جمعية مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات. كما شارك في لجان البرامج في أكثر من (200) مؤتمر دولي وورشة عمل. ومن بين مناصبه التي تقلدها رئاسته للجنة الإرسال الفنية لجمعية الاتصالات، والأنظمة البصرية، وأنظمة الدخول، بجمعية مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات. وقد عمل نائبًا لرئيس اللجنة الفنية للشبكات الضوئية، وشارك بصفته عضوًا في مجلس الأنشطة الفنية لجمعية الاتصالات بجمعية مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات. وحاز الدكتور حمدي جائزة أفضل ورقة بحثية في كلٍّ من المؤتمر الدولي لجمعية مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات عن الاتصالات، عام 2009؛ والمؤتمر الدولي لجمعية مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات عن المعلومات والشبكات، عام 1998. وأشرف على رسالة الدكتوراه التي حازت جائزة أفضل بحث دكتوراه على مستوى جامعات هونج كونج.

يُعرف الدكتور حمدي بالتزامه البحثي وخدماته المهنية، ويُعرف أيضًا بكونه مُدرِّسًا متخصصًا، ومدربًا مشهورًا بإتقانه التعليمي. حاز الدكتور منير حمدي عددًا من الجوائز لمبادراته التي تستهدف تحسين منهجيات وطرق وأساليب التدريس، ومنها: جائزة أفضل (10) مُحاضرين (من خلال تصويت الطلاب على أعضاء هيئة التدريس بالجامعة، والذي يُعقد مرة في السنة)؛ وجائزة التقدير للتدريس المتميز للهندسة من جامعة هونج كونج للعلوم والتكنولوجيا. إضافة إلى عدد من المنح التي تهدف إلى تحسين التدريس و طرقه، وتقنياته، وسبل توصيله. وقد شارك بكثرة في أنشطة ضمان جودة التعليم العالي، وفي اعتماد برامج الهندسة في جميع أنحاء العالم.