About the College of Public Policy | Hamad Bin Khalifa University
Hamad Bin Khalifa University

About the College of Public Policy

The College of Public Policy (CPP) is the newest college to be launched by Hamad bin Khalifa University, and reflects the priority that the university places on supporting and contributing to effective policy development and implementation for the Qatar National Vision 2030.  

The College’s first program, beginning in Fall 2019, is its flagship Master of Public Policy (MPP). The two-year program combines the highest international standards in the field with a distinctive combination of interdisciplinarity, strong ethical foundations, entrepreneurship in public management, and innovation in policy making and design. Students will develop a solid core of theoretical knowledge and have the opportunity to then specialize in either social policy or in energy and environmental policy. The specializations are supported by advanced seminars and labs, and culminate in a team-based, client-driven capstone project that addresses a real-world problem. 

The College is a unique and exciting environment – a “start-up” that is charged with energy, and open to innovative ideas and experimentation. It is recruiting the best international faculty, building its research capacity, and engaging with Qatar and the global community. It aims to be one of the leading public policy schools in the region and the world, acting as a bridge and a hub for innovative policy solutions that contribute to the public good. 
 


Dean CPP - Dr. Leslie A. Pal

DEAN’S MESSAGE

Welcome to the College of Public Policy, the newest college to be launched by Hamad bin Khalifa University. As the Founding Dean, I am proud and excited to lead in the building of what will be a hub of innovative policy thinking and advanced education in Qatar. The Master of Public Policy (MPP) is our first program, with innovative features that will both test and excite our students. Core courses include policy analysis and design, ethics, public management, global political economy, research methods and economics, and comparative public policy. Students can then specialize in either social policy or in energy and environmental policy, supported by advanced seminars and electives. 

Our growing faculty is committed to supporting the intellectual growth and development of each of our students. We will demand the most from them but will demand as much of ourselves. Theory will be combined with practice, and the College is building partnerships with the wider government, private sector, and research communities to ensure that our students have opportunities to test their knowledge against real world challenges. 

The College is currently recruiting leading faculty, inviting distinguished speakers, and establishing research networks and projects within the region and globally – all with the ambition to be one of the leading schools in the region and in the world, a bridge between different approaches to common problems, and a thought leader on public issues. 
I invite you to join us in these exciting first steps, and to work with us as we grow the College to achieve its unique potential.

كلية السياسة العامة | Hamad Bin Khalifa University

تُعد كلية السياسة العامة الأحدث بين كليات جامعة حمد بن خليفة، حيث أطلقتها الجامعة مؤخرًا لتعكس الأولوية التي توليها الجامعة لدعم إعداد السياسات الفعالة والإسهام في تطويرها وتنفيذها لصالح رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030.

وسوف تستهل كلية السياسة العامة برامجها الأكاديمية في خريف عام 2019 مع برنامج ماجستير السياسة العامة. يدمج هذا البرنامج الذي يُدرَّس على مدار سنتين بين أعلى المعايير الدولية في هذا المجال مع مجموعة متميزة من التخصصات المتعددة والأسس الأخلاقية الراسخة وريادة الأعمال في الإدارة العامة والابتكار في صنع السياسات وإعدادها. سيقوم طلاب البرنامج بتطوير نواة صلبة من المعرفة النظرية، وسوف تتاح لهم فرصة التخصص في السياسات الاجتماعية، أو في سياسات الطاقة والبيئية. تدعم هذه التخصصات ندوات ومختبرات متقدمة، تستند لروح الفريق، ويحركها مشاريع متقدمة تعالج مشكلات واقعية.

تعتبر الكلية بيئة فريدة ومشوقة وناشئة ومفعمة بالطاقة ومنفتحة على الأفكار والتجارب المبتكرة. والكلية بصدد استقطاب واحدة من أفضل هيئات التدريس على مستوى العالم، وبناء قدراتها البحثية، والانخراط في مجالها في قطر والمجتمع العالمي. تهدف كلية السياسة العامة أن تكون واحدة من كليات السياسة العامة الرائدة في المنطقة والعالم، لتجسر الهوة وتكون مركزًا لحلول السياسات المبتكرة التي تساهم في تحقيق الصالح العام.


عميد كلية السياسة العامة - الدكتور بال

رسالة العميد

يشرفني أن أرحب بكم في كلية السياسة العامة، أحدث كلية تطلقها جامعة حمد بن خليفة. وبصفتي العميد المؤسس، إنني فخور ومتحمس لقيادة كلية تمثل مركزًا للفكر السياسي المبتكر والتعليم المتقدم في قطر. ويعد ماجستير السياسة العامة، وهو أول برنامج نقدمه، ثري بسمات الابتكار، التي من شأنها فحص طلابنا وتحفيزهم على حد سواء. تشمل المقررات الأساسية تحليل السياسات وتصميمها، والأخلاقيات، والإدارة العامة، والاقتصاد السياسي العالمي، ومناهج واقتصاديات البحوث، والسياسة العامة المقارنة. ويمكن للطلاب عندئذ التخصص في أي من السياسات الاجتماعية أو في سياسات الطاقة والبيئة، بدعم من الندوات المتقدمة والمواد الاختيارية.

تلتزم هيئة التدريس المتنامية لدينا بدعم التطور الفكري وتنمية مهارات جميع طلابنا. ونحن نركز على بيئة تعليمية تفاعلية بين الطلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس، ونمزج النظريات بالواقع العملي، حيث تبني الكلية شراكات مع المؤسسات الحكومية الأوسع، والقطاع الخاص، والمجتمعات البحثية؛ لضمان إتاحة فرص اختبار معارف الطلاب في مواجهة تحديات عالم الواقع.

وتقوم الكلية في الوقت الحالي بتوظيف هيئة تدريس رائدة، ودعوة متحدثين متميزين، وبناء شبكات ومشاريع بحثية في هذه المنطقة وحول العالم، ولديها الطموح لتكون وأحدة من الكليات الرائدة في المنطقة والعالم، وجسرًا يربط بين مختلف منهجيات مقاربة المشكلات المشتركة، ومركزًا فكريًا رياديًا يعمل على القضايا العامة.

إنني أدعوكم للانضمام إلينا في هذه الخطوات الأولى والمشوقة، والعمل معنا ونحن نشرع في توسيع نطاق الكلية لتحقق إمكاناتها الفريدة.