About the College of Law | Hamad Bin Khalifa University
Hamad Bin Khalifa University

About the College of Law

The College of Law (CL) is a world-class provider of legal education with an international reputation for quality and innovation in teaching and research.

Owing to its position at a global crossroads in terms of culture, business and geopolitics, Qatar is at the heart of a region that requires leaders who can manage multi-faceted relationships that span different legal systems and who have a command of a wide range of skills. CL addresses this need by offering training to graduate students from a range of disciplines in the skills needed to understand the diverse legal systems – civil, common, and Sharia – that inform Qatari law and that govern complex events and transactions, both in the region and throughout the globe. The CL Juris Doctor (JD) program is the first graduate law degree program of its kind in the MENA region.

CL has further developed co-curricular programs to increase the visibility of the college to government and corporate leaders, both locally and globally, in order to foster the growth and connectedness of the college as well as provide broad opportunities for students and future graduates. CL students have wide career prospects in Qatar and globally in the public sector, private industry, multinational organizations and academia. The college encourages its students to participate in internship programs with the aim of gaining industry experience and building professional networks.


Susan L. Karamanian

DEAN’S MESSAGE:

Dr. Susan L. Karamanian

Let me be the first to extend to you a warm welcome to the HBKU College of Law. I am honored to serve as the Dean of one of the most outstanding law schools in the Middle East, which was founded in 2015 under a strategic partnership between HBKU and Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law.  Although we are a new school, we are full of energy and vision. 

What distinguishes HBKU’s College of Law?  First, our faculty members, with degrees from universities such as Oxford, Cambridge, Harvard, and Yale, produce a steady volume of highly regarded academic scholarship that addresses contemporary problems.  They teach law using an innovative, comparative approach, relying on three major legal disciplines-common law, civil law, and Sharia as the backdrop. Second, we are fortunate to have a sophisticated student body, all with previous university degrees, who work seamlessly in English and challenge us in the classroom as they are taught to question and leave no stone unturned. 

In pursuit of excellence, the college extends learning beyond the rigors of the classroom. We host regular conferences and colloquium. Our students participate in internships and moot court competitions.  We put a premium on building relationships, which help our students develop as leaders. Through strategic partnerships, our students meet leading lawyers and academics while honing their interpersonal skills.

We expect a lot from members of our community as we stand prepared to help Qatar, the Middle East, and the world address the significant challenges that are before us.  We look forward to having you join us on this journey.  


Dean's Bio

كلية القانون | Hamad Bin Khalifa University
Hamad Bin Khalifa University

كلية القانون

تأسست كلية القانون وفقًا لرؤية تستهدف أن تكون مؤسسة للتعليم القانوني وفق أفضل المعايير العالمية، وهي تتمتع بسمعة عالمية طيبة بفضل جودة التدريس والبحوث والمناهج المبتكرة.

ونظرًا لوقوعها في مفترق طرق ضمن منطقة ثرية بالثقافة والأعمال والجغرافيا السياسية، تتواجد دولة قطر في قلب منطقة تحتاج إلى قادة يستطيعون إدارة العلاقات المركبة ومتعددة الأوجه، وتتسع لأنظمة قانونية مختلفة تحتاج إلى إجادة مجموعة كبيرة من المهارات. وتحرص كلية القانون على تلبية هذه الاحتياجات من خلال تدريب طلاب الدراسات العليا على مجموعة من التخصصات التي تتعلق بالمهارات اللازمة لفهم الأنظمة القانونية المتنوعة، ومنها القانون المدني، والقانون العام، والشريعة الإسلامية، التي يهتدي بها القانون القطري، والتي تساعد في الحكم على الأحداث والمعاملات المعقدة في المنطقة وحول العالم. ويُعد برنامج (دكتور في القانون) البرنامج القانوني الأول من نوعه لطلاب الدراسات العليا في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا.

وتطرح كلية القانون برامج مساعدة ودورات تدريبية تنفيذية؛ لزيادة معدل المتابعة للكلية، من خلال استضافة شخصيات قيادية ورواد بارزين من المؤسسات الحكومية، والشركات والمؤسسات المحلية والعالمية، بغرض تعزيز مكانة الكلية وتوسيع مجالها وترسيخ مكانتها، فضلاً عن توفير فرص وافرة للطلاب وخريجي المستقبل. ويحظى خريجو كلية القانون والسياسة العامة بآفاق وظيفية واسعة في قطر وخارجها على مستوى القطاع العام والخاص، والمؤسسات متعددة الجنسيات، وفي المجال الأكاديمي. وتشجع الكلية طلابها على المشاركة في البرامج التدريبية؛ بهدف اكتساب الخبرات وبناء علاقات مهنية واسعة ومتميزة.


الدكتورة سوزان إل. كارامانين

رسالة العميد

الدكتورة سوزان إل. كارامانين

اسمحوا لي أن أكون أول مَنْ يرحب بكم في كلية القانون بجامعة حمد بن خليفة، حيث أتشرف بشغل منصب عميد واحدة من أكثر كليات القانون تميزًا في منطقة الشرق الأوسط، والتي تأسست في عام 2015، في إطار شراكة استراتيجية بين جامعة حمد بن خليفة وكلية بريتزكر للقانون في جامعة نورثويسترن. وعلى الرغم من كوننا كلية حديثة التأسيس، إلا أننا مفعمون بالحيوية ومسلحون بالرؤية الثاقبة.

ربما تتسأل: ما الذي يُميز كلية القانون في جامعة حمد بن خليفة؟ أولاً، لدينا هيئة تدريس حائزة على مؤهلات علمية مرموقة من جامعات عالمية مثل: أكسفورد وكامبريدج وهارفارد وييل، وتتمتع بمكانة أكاديمية وعلمية مشرفة، وتحظى بتقدير دولي، وتعالج خبراتهم العلمية القضايا القانونية المعاصرة. فهم يدّرسون علوم القانون من خلال نهج مقارن ومبتكر، يركز على ثلاثة تخصصات قانونية رئيسية، وهي: القانون العام، والقانون المدني، والشريعة الإسلامية كمرجعية عامة. ثانيًا، نحن نحظى بهيئة طلابية متميزة، وهم جميعًا حائزون على درجات جامعية، ويدرسون المناهج باللغة الإنجليزية على نحو سلس، ويتحدوننا داخل قاعات الدراسة، ويطرحون كافة الأسئلة حول القضايا المختلفة بكل تفاصيلها.

وسعيًا منها نحو تحقيق المزيد من التميز، تتخطى العملية التعليمية في كلية القانون الحدود التقليدية لقاعات المحاضرات، حيث تستضيف الكلية المؤتمرات والندوات بصفة منتظمة. ويشارك طلابنا في الدورات التدريبية ومسابقات المحاكمات الصورية. ونولي أهمية خاصة لبناء علاقات العمل التي تساعد طلابنا على التطور لتولي المناصب القيادية. ويتفاعل طلابنا من خلال الشراكات الاستراتيجية مع الرواد وخبراء القانون والأكاديميين عبر رحلة تعليمية تركز على تطوير مهاراتهم الشخصية.

إننا نتوقع الكثير من أفراد مجتمع كليتنا، ونحن على استعداد لتقديم الدعم على المستوى الوطني والإقليمي والعالمي، فيما يتعلق بالتصدي للتحديات الكبيرة والمهمة التي تواجهنا. ويسرّنا انضمامكم إلينا في هذه الرحلة التعليمية الثرية والمشوقة.


كلمة العميد