Software Engineering | Hamad Bin Khalifa University
Software Engineering

Software Engineering

The Software Engineering Team was established in 2018 with the vision of commercializing technologies developed by research groups at QCRI. The team supports researchers to develop their research prototypes into commercially viable products. The team is constantly growing and is handling coding interviews for all candidate engineers at QCRI.

The team adopts the Agile software methodology and ensures that modern software engineering practices are followed to achieve quality products. Current projects include:

  • SAQR: A platform for large-scale social media analysis. Initiated within the team and considered its core project, SAQR employs a modern architecture of microservices and is cloud-native. The long-term vision of SAQR is to establish a platform that can digest, process, and query Twitter-scale firehose data.
  • eHealth Sherpa: A project to develop a lifestyle decision support system. It uses data from wearable devices that record the physical activity of the person wearing the device. The data recorded can be analyzed to find interesting patterns for clinicians to track and educate people suffering from diseases such as obesity, diabetes etc.
  • Rayyan: Inherited from the Data Analytics group, the team is maintaining, scaling, and extending Rayyan to serve hundreds of thousands of users doing research literature screening.

هندسة البرمجيات | معهد قطر لبحوث الحوسبة

تشكّل فريق هندسة البرمجيات في عام 2018 وفقًا لرؤية تتعلق بإنتاج تقنيات البحوث من مجموعات بحثية أخرى في معهد قطر لبحوث الحوسبة. تُنفذ هذه المهمة من خلال دعم الباحثين في تحويل النماذج الأولية لبحوثهم إلى منتجات ذات جودة تجارية عالية. ويتوسع الفريق بشكل مستمر ويتولى إجراء مقابلات الترميز لجميع المهندسين المرشحين للعمل في معهد قطر لبحوث الحوسبة.

يتبنى فريق العمل منهجية برمجيات حاسوبية متميزة على منوال معالجة برامجها، ويؤكد الفريق على اتباع ممارسات هندسة البرمجيات الحديثة؛ لإنتاج منتجات ذات جودة عالية. ويمكن تلخيص المشاريع الحالية في النقاط التالية:

  • أس أي كيو آر: منصة لتحليل وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي واسعة النطاق. بدأت هذه المنصة مع الفريق وتعتبر مشروعه الأساسي. وتعمل هذه المنصة على توظيف الهندسة المعمارية الحديثة للخدمات الدقيقة وتستخدم منظومة التخزين السحابي. تتمثل الرؤية طويلة الأجل لهذه المنصة في إنشاء منصة يمكنها استيعاب ومعالجة واستعلام بيانات فيرهوز على نطاق تويتر.
  • شيربا للصحة الإلكترونية: يتناول هذا المشروع تأسيس نظام لدعم اتخاذ القرار بشأن نمط الحياة. ويستخدم هذا النظام بيانات من أجهزة يمكن ارتداؤها تسجل النشاط البدني للشخص الذي يرتدي الجهاز. ويمكن تحليل البيانات المسجلة لاكتشاف أنماط مثيرة للاهتمام للأطباء لتتبع وتثقيف الأفراد الذين يعانون من أمراض مثل السمنة وداء السكري ... الخ.
  • ريان: يقوم الفريق، وهو ضمن مجموعة تحليلات البيانات، بصيانة وتوسيع شبكة ريان لخدمة مئات الآلاف من المستخدمين الذين يقومون بفحص مواد البحوث العلمية.