About the College of Humanities and Social Sciences | HBKU
Hamad Bin Khalifa University

About the College of Humanities and Social Sciences

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences (CHSS) was established with a vision to enrich society in Qatar and across the wider world with transformative educational experiences that bridge disciplinary boundaries, and offer the academic community opportunities to engage in innovative research and collaboration. The college aspires to nurture a diverse body of academically grounded and socially responsible global citizens, whose versatility will enable them to navigate the complexities of today’s world and become tomorrow`s leaders.

CHSS currently offers four graduate degree programs in the fields of translation and interpreting; women, society and development; and digital humanities. The Master of Arts programs in translation studies and audiovisual translation are delivered by the Translation and Interpreting Institute (TII) and internationally validated by the University of Geneva in Switzerland.

CHSS strives to achieve academic excellence and promote cutting-edge research. This mission is accomplished through innovative, interdisciplinary, research intensive postgraduate programs in the humanities and social sciences that prepare qualified graduates for the professional and scholarly worlds. By creating a unique educational and learning experience for students, CHSS will develop their intellectual and creative capacities and equip them with the professional skills to advance in their careers and future lives.


Dr. Amal Mohammed Al-Malki

FOUNDING DEAN'S MESSAGE:

Dr. Amal Mohammed Al-Malki

Welcome the College of Humanities and Social Sciences (CHSS), which launched its two first MA programs in August 2017. Despite being a young College, CHSS is able to leverage the reputation and the impact of the Translation and Interpreting Institute (TII) in Qatar and beyond, and to build upon the strong ties TII has established with governmental and semi-government entities, industry, and civil society. Opportunities are abundant, and CHSS is committed to creating leaders who can turn these opportunities into realities that will benefit their direct societies and humanity in general.

The college's strength today is attributed to the faculty, staff, students, supporters, stakeholders and partners on their substantial contributions to all our successes. Together, we are all committed to making a positive social impact locally and globally through unique and transformative interdisciplinary educational programs and research.

We encourage you to browse through our web page, explore our courses, and read through the profiles of members of our faculty.


Dean's Bio

CHSS Advisory Council Members

  • Dr. Amal Mohammed Al-Malki

    Dr. Amal Mohammed Al-Malki Founding Dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences Hamad bin Khalifa University – Qatar Foundation

  • Dr. Nima Nazari

    Dr. Khalid Al-Horr CEO, Qatar Finance and Business Academy – QFBA

  • HE Sheikh Saif bin Ahmed Al –Thani

    HE Sheikh Saif bin Ahmed Al –Thani Director of the Government Communication Office

  • Mr. Hassan Abdulrahman Al-Ibrahim

    Mr. Hassan Abdulrahman Al-Ibrahim Assistant Secretary-General of Qatar National Tourism Council

  • H.E. Hassan Al Thawadi

    H.E. Hassan Al Thawadi Secretary General of the Supreme Committee for Delivery and Legacy

  • Dr. Tarik M. Yousef

    Dr. Tarik M. Yousef Senior Fellow - Global Economy and Development Director - Brookings Doha Center

  • Ms. Ameena Al Haroon

    Ms. Ameena Al Haroon CHSS Alumni Governance Officer QF Board Management Office

  • Dr. Hassan Hakimian

    Dr. Hassan Hakimian Director of the London Middle East Institute and a Reader in Economics at SOAS, University of London.

  •  David Kaufer

    Professor David Kaufer Mellon Distinguished Professor of English at Carnegie Mellon

  • Dr. Steven Wright

    Dr. Steven Wright Associate Professor of International Relations and an Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Research

  • Dr. Josélia Neves

    Dr. Josélia Neves Professor in the Translation and Interpreting Department

  • Ms. Nada Abduljalil Al-Mahmeed

    Ms. Nada Abduljalil Al-Mahmeed Director of Translation and Training Center

  • Dr. Nima Nazari

    Dr. Nima Nazari Director, Language Center

كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية | Hamad Bin Khalifa University

تأسست كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية وفق رؤية تهدف إلى إثراء المجتمع في قطر وخارجها، من خلال تجارب تعليمية تحويلية تسد الفجوة بين حدود التخصصات، وتوفر فرصًا للانخراط في بحوث مبتكرة ومجالات للتعاون يستفيد منها المجتمع الأكاديمي. وتسعى الكلية لتحقيق رسالتها هذه من خلال كوكبة متميزة ومتنوعة من أعضاء هيئة التدريس والباحثين الأكاديميين رفيعي المستوى، وتهيئة بيئة داعمة للطلاب للانخراط في فحص تعقيدات عالم اليوم، وتأهيلهم ليكونوا قادة الغد.

تقدم كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية في الوقت الحالي أربعة برامج أكاديمية لطلاب الدراسات العليا في تخصصات الترجمة التحريرية والفورية، والمرأة والمجتمع والتنمية، والعلوم الإنسانية الرقمية. ويقدم معهد دراسات الترجمة التابع للكلية برنامجي: ماجستير الآداب في دراسات الترجمة، وماجستير الآداب في الترجمة السمعية البصرية، وكلاهما يحظى باعتراف دولي من خلال اعتماده من جامعة جنيف في سويسرا.

تسعى كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية لتحقيق التميز الأكاديمي، وتعزيز البحوث المتقدمة. ومن أجل تحقيق هذه الغاية، تقدم برامج أكاديمية مبتكرة ومتداخلة التخصصات، تقوم على البحوث المكثفة لطلاب الدراسات العليا في العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية. وهي برامج تؤهل الخريجين للانضمام لنخب العلماء والخبراء، كل في مجاله. وتعمل الكلية على تطوير قدرات طلابها الفكرية والابتكارية، وتُسلّحهم بالمهارات الاحترافية للسير قدمًا في حياتهم العملية والمستقبلية، من خلال توفير تجربة تعليمية فريدة ومتميزة.


السيرة الذاتية لعميد الكلية

رسالة العميد المؤسس:

الدكتورة أمل محمد المالكي

يشرفني أن أرحب بكم في كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية، التي أطلقت أول برنامجين في ماجستير الآداب في عام 2017. وعلى الرغم من عمرها القصير، أصبحت كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية قادرة على تعزيز السمعة الطيبة لمعهد دراسات الترجمة (TII) في قطر وخارجها، والبناء على هذه الروابط القوية التي أسّسها المعهد مع المؤسسات الحكومية وشبه الحكومية، والقطاعات المختلفة، والمجتمع المدني. ومع توافر الفرص، تظل كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية ملتزمة بتخريج القادة القادرين على تحويل هذه الفرص إلى واقع عملي تستفيد منه المجتمعات التي ينتمي إليها الطلاب خاصة والإنسانية بصفة عامة.

إن ما تتمتع به الكلية اليوم من حضور قوي يعود في المقام الأول للجهود التي تبذُلها هيئة التدريس، والموظفون، والطلاب، والداعمون، والجهات المعنية والشريكة، وبفضل إسهاماتهم الجوهرية في تحقيق هذه النجاحات المتعددة. إننا جميعًا ملتزمون بالاستمرار في تحقيق التأثير الاجتماعي الإيجابي محليًا وعالميًا، من خلال برامجنا الأكاديمية والبحوث الفريدة والتحويلية متداخلة التخصصات.

للمزيد من المعلومات، يرجى تصفح موقعنا الإلكتروني، والتعرف على دوراتنا المقدمة، وقراءة الملفات التعريفية لأعضاء هيئة التدريس.


كلمة العميد

أعضاء اللجنة الاستشارية لكلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية:

  • الدكتورة أمل المالكي

    الدكتورة أمل المالكي العميدة المؤسسة لكلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية

  • د. خالد الحر

    د. خالد الحر مدير معهد الدراسات العليا التابع لوزارة التعليم والتعليم العالي

  • سعادة الشيخ سيف بن أحمد آل ثاني

    سعادة الشيخ سيف بن أحمد آل ثاني مدير مكتب الاتصال الحكومي

  • السيد حسن عبد الرحمن الإبراهيم

    السيد حسن عبد الرحمن الإبراهيم مساعد الأمين العام للمجلس الوطني للسياحة

  • سعادة حسن عبد الله الذوادي

    سعادة حسن عبد الله الذوادي الأمين العام للجنة العليا للمشاريع والإرث

  • الدكتور طارق يوسف

    الدكتور طارق يوسف مدير مركز بروكنجز الدوحة زميل أول - برنامج الاقتصاد العالمي والتنمية

  • السيدة أمينة الهارون

    السيدة أمينة الهارون حائزة على ماجستير الآداب في الترجمة السمعية البصرية من كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية، ومسؤولة الحوكمة بمكتب مجلس إدارة مؤسسة قطر

  • الدكتور حسن حكيميان

    الدكتور حسن حكيميان مدير معهد الشرق الأوسط في لندن ومحاضر في علوم الاقتصاد في كلية الدراسات الشرقية والإفريقية بجامعة لندن

  • الدكتور ديفيد كوفر

    الدكتور ديفيد كوفر أستاذ اللغة الإنجليزية في جامعة كارنيجي ميلون

  • الدكتورة جوزيليا نيفيس

    الدكتورة جوزيليا نيفيش أستاذ بقسم الترجمة التحريرية والفورية

  • السيدة ندى عبد الجليل المحاميد

    السيدة ندى عبد الجليل المحاميد مديرة مركز الترجمة والتدريب

  • الدكتور نيما نزاري

    الدكتور نيما نزاري مدير مركز اللغات في كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية بجامعة حمد بن خليفة

  • الدكتور ستيفن رايت

    الدكتور ستيفن رايت أستاذ مشارك في العلاقات الدولية وعميد مشارك للشؤون الأكاديمية والبحوث في كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية بجامعة حمد بن خليفة