Research Compliance | Hamad Bin Khalifa University
Research Compliance

Research Compliance

Research Compliance Assurance

The Research Compliance Assurance (RCA) section ensures that all research programs and employees at Hamad Bin Khalifa University (HBKU) comply with the rules and regulations set by the state of Qatar. The RCA requires that all institutional policies and procedures are being followed and that the performance of the institute meets the organization’s standards of conduct through the following committees:

Institutional Review Board (IRB)

The Institutional Review Board (IRB) is responsible for the ethical protection of the rights and welfare of human subjects from research risks. The IRB assures that all human subjects research activities conducted under the auspices of HBKU are ethically and methodologically sound, as required under public law and as expected by the public. 

The IRB is a highly professional committee that reviews and approves human research protocols of various disciplines and all related processes and documents to ensure that the rights and welfare of human subjects are protected above all other considerations. The IRB has the authority to approve, require modifications or disapprove all research activities that fall within their jurisdiction in conformity with all ethical foundations for the protection of human subjects. The IRB functions independently to protect its ethical mission without compromise and without any perception of conflict of interest or undue influence of power.

To comply with Qatari regulations concerning research involving human subjects, HBKU’s Institutional Review Board has the assurance of the Ministry of Public Health (MOPH). 

The HBKU-IRB responsibility for approving research proposals involving human subjects is limited to HBKU’s colleges and research institutes, as well as any other organization that relies on HBKU-IRB via a reliance agreement. Any collaborative project involving research activities in sites outside the above institutes will need to be covered by the IRB office of those sites. For any research activity to be conducted outside Qatar, an appropriate ethical approval from the foreign country needs to be obtained prior to initiation of the activity (click here for more information).

HBKU-IRB members include scientists, non-scientists, physicians, ethicists,  and individuals with expertise in allied disciplines. More specifically, the HBKU-IRB is committed to the following ethical requirements:

  • Social Values
  • Scientific Merit
  • Respect for People
  • Respect for Vulnerable Persons
  • Privacy and Confidentiality
  • Collaborative Partnerships
  • Ethical Review
  • Professional Competence

 

Research projects require Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) reviews and approvals. Investigators must submit an application for the IBC review and approval before applying to the IRB.  

Apply for IRB:

Please click on this link to access the online application: hbku.wufoo.com/forms/qbrihbku-institutional-review-board/ 

If you have any questions, please send an email to 

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is the cornerstone of the institutional oversight of all biomedical research programs that involve infectious agents, animal use, recombinant DNA, and genetically modified material by ensuring that all research involving hazardous materials and the facilities used to conduct research are in compliance with existing governmental regulations, guidelines and institutional policies.

The IBC at QBRI was established in 2013 as per the mandate of the Governance Decree 02 in 2012 for regulating the establishments of institutional biosafety committees and has been registered and approved by MOPH. 

Resources: 

MOPH- Biosafety Laboratories Research Policies and Regulations

Main constituent elements of the IBC:

  • Research facility compliance for the laboratory by identifying the biosafety level criteria and the containment requirement as per the research protocol conducted
  • Biological material handling and exposure control plan
  • Biological risk assessment 
  • Biosecurity - the management of risks associated with facilities and operations
  • Animal research safety program to be in place (in collaboration with the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC)) 
  • Environmental, health, safety, and risk evaluation
  • Waste management 
  • Chemical handling

The IBC aims to review and approve research protocols conducted at or sponsored by QBRI and other governmental entities such as Sidra Hospital, Al Shaqab, and other HBKU institutions, for compliance with the Governmental and International Biosafety Guidelines. The process carries out the annual inspection of institutional facilities, and maintains a register of approved projects that are periodically reviewed to ensure compliance with the containment facilities (laboratories, animal houses), including the personnel qualification and training records. 

For IBC submissions, click this link and use your login credentials. 

For login credentials please contact the IBC coordinator at

الامتثال البحثي | جامعة حمد بن خليفة

ضمان الامتثال في مجال الأبحاث العلمية

يضمن قسم الامتثال في مجال الأبحاث العلمية التزام جميع البرامج البحثية وأطقم العمل في جامعة حمد بن خليفة بالقواعد واللوائح التي تعتمدها دولة قطر. ويلزم القسم الجميع باتباع جميع السياسات والإجراءات المؤسسية وأن يلبي أداء المؤسسة معايير السلوك الخاصة بالمؤسسة من خلال اللجان التالية:

مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية

مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية مسؤول عن الحماية الأخلاقية لحقوق ورفاهية الأفراد من المخاطر التي ربما تنطوي عليها الأبحاث العلمية. ويتأكد المجلس أن جميع الأنشطة البحثية التي تجريها أطقم بشرية تحت رعاية جامعة حمد بن خليفة سليمة من الناحية الأخلاقية والمنهجية، كما هو محدد بموجب القانون العام وكما هو متوقع من قبل عامة الناس. 

يعتبر مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية بمثابة لجنة متخصصة تتمتع باحترافية عالية تقوم بمراجعة واعتماد بروتوكولات البحوث البشرية في مختلف التخصصات وجميع العمليات والوثائق ذات الصلة؛ لضمان حماية حقوق ورفاه الأفراد ووضعهما فوق كل الاعتبارات الأخرى. ويتمتع المجلس بالصلاحيات المتعلقة بالموافقة على جميع الأنشطة البحثية التي تقع ضمن اختصاصه، أو طلب تعديلها، أو رفضها بما يتوافق مع جميع القواعد الأخلاقية اللازمة لحماية البشر الخاضعين للتجارب. ويعمل مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية بشكل مستقل على حماية مهمته الأخلاقية دون مهادنة ودون أي تأثر بتعارض المصالح أو نفوذ سلطوي غير مبرر.

امتثالاً للوائح القطرية المتعلقة بالبحوث التي تشمل العنصر البشري، فإن مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية في جامعة حمد بن خليفة يحظى بثقة وزارة الصحة العامة.

تقتصر مسؤولية مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية في جامعة حمد بن خليفة بشأن الموافقة على المقترحات البحثية التي تتضمن موضوعات بشرية على كليات جامعة حمد بن خليفة ومعاهدها البحثية، بالإضافة إلى أي مؤسسة أخرى تستند في عملها إلى مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية في الجامعة من خلال اتفاقية وثوق. وسوف يحتاج أي مشروع تعاوني يتضمن أنشطة بحثية في مواقع خارج المعاهد المذكورة أعلاه إلى تغطية من قبل مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية لتلك المواقع. وبالنسبة لإجراء أي نشاط بحثي خارج دولة قطر، يجب الحصول على موافقة أخلاقية سليمة من الدولة الأجنبية قبل البدء في مزاولة هذا النشاط (للمزيد من المعلومات، اضغط هنا).

يضم أعضاء مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية في جامعة حمد بن خليفة العلماء وغيرهم والأطباء والمختصين بالأخلاق والأفراد من ذوي الخبرة في الاختصاصات ذات الصلة. وبشكل أكثر تحديدًا، يلتزم المجلس بالاشتراطات الأخلاقية التالية:

  • القيم الاجتماعية
  • الجدارة العلمية
  • احترام الناس
  • احترام المستضعفين
  • الخصوصية والسرية
  • أوجه الشراكة والتعاون
  • المراجعة الأخلاقية
  • الكفاءة المهنية

 

تطلب المشاريع البحثية مراجعات وموافقات من لجنة السلامة الحيوية المؤسسية، ويجب على الباحثين تقديم طلب للجنة للمراجعة  والموافقة عليه قبل تقديم المقترح البحثي لمجلس المراجعة المؤسسية.

للتقديم لمجلس المراجعة المؤسسية:

يرجى الضغط على هذا الرابط للوصول إلى طلب التقديم عبر الإنترنت: https://hbku.wufoo.com/forms/qbrihbku-institutional-review-board/

للاستفسار وللمزيد من المعلومات، يرجى إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى:  

لجنة السلامة الحيوية المؤسسية  

لجنة السلامة الحيوية المؤسسية هي حجر الزاوية في عملية الإشراف المؤسسي على جميع برامج البحوث الطبية الحيوية التي تشمل العوامل المعدية، والتجارب التي تجرى على الحيوانات، والحمض النووي المؤتلف، والمواد المعدلة وراثيًا من خلال التأكد من أن جميع الأبحاث التي تتضمن مواد خطرة والمرافق المستخدمة لإجراء البحوث تمتثل لجميع اللوائح الحكومية والمبادئ التوجيهية والسياسات المؤسسية القائمة.

تأسست لجنة السلامة الحيوية المؤسسية في معهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي في عام 2013 وفقًا لولاية مرسوم الحوكمة 02 الصادر في عام 2012 لتنظيم تأسيس لجان السلامة الحيوية المؤسسية، وقد جرى تسجيلها واعتمادها من قبل وزارة الصحة العامة.

المصادر:

سياسات ولوائح البحوث التي تجرى في مختبرات السلامة الحيوية

المكونات الرئيسية للجنة السلامة الحيوية المؤسسية:

  • امتثال المنشآت البحثية للمختبر من خلال تحديد معايير مستوى السلامة الحيوية ومتطلبات الاحتواء وفقًا لبروتوكول البحوث التي تجرى فيه
  • التعامل مع المواد البيولوجية وخطة السيطرة على إمكانية التعرض لها
  • تقييم المخاطر البيولوجية
  • الأمن البيولوجي - إدارة المخاطر المرتبطة بالمرافق والمنشآت البحثية وتشغيلها
  • إعداد وتنفيذ برنامج سلامة للبحوث التي تجرى على الحيوانات (بالتعاون مع اللجنة المؤسسية لرعاية واستخدام الحيوان)
  • تقييم المخاطر البيئية والصحية وذات الصلة بالسلامة 
  • إدارة المخلفات
  • التعامل مع المواد الكيميائية

تهدف لجنة السلامة الحيوية المؤسسية إلى مراجعة واعتماد بروتوكولات البحوث التي تُجرى في معهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي أو برعاية المعهد أو الكيانات الحكومية الأخرى مثل مستشفى سدرة، ومربط الشقب، ومؤسسات أخرى في جامعة حمد بن خليفة، من أجل الامتثال للمبادئ التوجيهية للمؤسسات الحكومية الوطنية والعالمية للسلامة البيولوجية. وتشمل العملية تفتيشًا سنويًا على المرافق المؤسسية، وتحتفظ بسجل للمشاريع المعتمدة التي يجرى مراجعتها بشكل دوري؛ لضمان الامتثال لمرافق الاحتواء (المختبرات، وبيوت الحيوانات)، بما في ذلك سجلات تأهيل الموظفين وبرامجهم التدريبية.

لتقديم الطلبات إلى لجنة السلامة الحيوية المؤسسية، اضغط على هذا الرابط واستخدم بيانات تسجيل الدخول الخاصة بك.

للحصول على بيانات تسجيل الدخول، يرجى الاتصال بمنسق لجنة السلامة الحيوية المؤسسية عبر: