Faculty Position: Open Rank Position of Sustainable Urbanism
Hamad Bin Khalifa University

Faculty Position: Open Rank Position of Sustainable Urbanism

Hamad Bin Khalifa University (HBKU), a member of Qatar Foundation for Education, Science, and Community Development (QF), was founded in 2010 to continue fulfilling QF’s vision of unlocking human potential. HBKU is an emerging research university that acts as a catalyst for transformative change in Qatar and the region while having a global impact.

HBKU’s College of Islamic Studies (CIS) was founded to become a beacon for contemporary Islamic scholarship and thought, and a platform for meaningful intellectual and cultural dialogue on Islam and Muslims. Through its postgraduate programs and research centers, CIS seeks to address some of the most pressing questions facing Muslim communities today, both locally and globally. Through its offerings, the College strives to advance an understanding of Islam and Muslims and to produce graduates who can contribute and excel in a rapidly changing world.

Job Purpose

CIS currently has an open position for an assistant, associate, or full Professor of Sustainable Urbanism in the MSc Program in Islamic Art, Architecture, and Urbanism. The ideal candidate is expected to contribute to the teaching and academic strengths of the discipline, including the pursuit of research funding and publication in high-standing peer-reviewed academic journals.

The MSc Program in Islamic Art, Architecture, and Urbanism is one of the pioneer postgraduate programs in the region worldwide. The program is unique in focus, structure, and content with no similar program being offered in Qatar, the region, or the Islamic world. The program focuses on understandings related to art history, architecture, and sustainable urbanism in the Islamic world, exemplifying its critical construction, acquisition, dissemination, and application to international institutions, in general, and more specifically to communities of Muslim traditions and knowledge that is rooted in the Islamic tradition. 

The MSc Program in Islamic Art, Architecture, and Urbanism is comprehensive in nature as it integrates an all-encompassing approach to the understanding of the built environment and culture of Muslim communities. It addresses the built environment at different scales ranging from interior spaces and buildings, through exterior and urban public spaces, to the city. 

Key Result Areas

  • Conduct assigned courses or seminars.
  • Supervise independent study activities.
  • Serve as academic advisor to students.
  • Serve on and chair university and College committees.
  • Participate in the evaluation and promotion of faculty.
  • Render service to the professional or lay community which is relevant to the individual's
  • academic specialty.
  • Participate in curriculum development activities including the development of curricular materials and special instructional methods.
  • Conduct research or undertake comparable scholarly activity.
  • Supervise research projects and theses.
  • Seek funding support for research.
  • Other reasonable tasks as assigned by the college.

Minimum Knowledge, Skills & Experience

  • PhD or terminal degree from an accredited university as required for teaching in certain fields.
  • Minimum five to six years of experience in research, higher education, or closely related areas in
  • the industry (additional years of experience may be required to show equivalency), with evidence of increasing professional maturity and productivity.
  • Evidence of proficiency in teaching, student supervision, and curriculum and program development.
  • Research and scholarly achievements judged competent and adequate for the rank of Associate Professor in comparison with peers active in the same field at major research universities.
  • Continued evidence of participation in the scholarly activities and academic affairs of a university, or other appropriate organization, or in an appropriate professional society or organization.
  • Significant national and regional reputation in scholarly endeavors (funded research grants, publications, IP/patents, etc.) in similar in comparison with peers active in the same field at a major research university.
  • Ability to work with and lead diverse groups, cultures, and communities.
  • Evidence of significant national and regional networks and collaborations in both teaching and research activities.
  • Excellent writing skills with the ability to communicate fluently and to articulate ideas clearly and concisely in the English language (Arabic proficiency will be an asset).
  • Proficiency in MS Office applications.

How to Apply

Candidates should submit their complete application (CV, cover letter, research statement, teaching statement, and the names of three references with their full contact information) on the following link: Click here to apply

Deadline

We will start reviewing applications immediately and will continue to review them until the positions are filled. 

Remuneration

HBKU offers an attractive compensation package that includes a tax-free salary and additional benefits such as housing and transportation allowances, children’s educational assistance, annual paid leave and airfares, medical insurance etc.  

HBKU, as an equal opportunity educator and employer, is committed to maintaining culturally and academically diverse staff of the highest caliber.

وظائف أعضاء هيئة تدريس في التنمية العمرانية المستدامة
Hamad Bin Khalifa University

وظائف أعضاء هيئة تدريس في التنمية العمرانية المستدامة

تأسست جامعة حمد بن خليفة، عضو مؤسسة قطر للتربية والعلوم وتنمية المجتمع، عام 2010، بهدف الإسهام في تحقيق رؤية مؤسسة قطر الرامية إلى إطلاق قدرات الإنسان. وهي تُعدُّ جامعة بحثية وطنية، تستهدف الإسهام في مسيرة التنمية ودعم التطوير في قطاعات متعددة بدولة قطر والمنطقة بأسرها، فضلاً عن تدعيم مركزها وتأثيرها العالمي في الوقت نفسه.

تأسست كلية الدراسات الإسلامية لتكون مركزًا للدراسات الإسلامية المعاصرة، ومنارة للفكر والثقافة، تضم هيئة تدريس متميزة، وتستهدف تخريج طلاب على أعلى مستوى، يشاركون في حوار هادف حول الإسلام والمسلمين. ومن خلال برامجها لطلبة الدراسات العليا، تسعى كلية الدراسات الإسلامية إلى تناول القضايا الأكثر إلحاحًا التي تواجه المجتمعات الإسلامية في الوقت الحاضر على المستوى المحلي والدولي. ومن خلال عروضها الأكاديمية، تسعى الكلية سعيًا حثيثًا نحو تطوير فهم قضايا الإسلام والمسلمين، وتخريج كوادر قادرة على الإسهام في عالم يتغير بوتيرة سريعة. 

الغرض من الوظيفة:

تعلن كلية الدراسات الإسلامية عن فتح باب التقديم لشغل وظائف أستاذ مساعد، وأستاذ مشارك، وأستاذ متفرغ في التنمية العمرانية المستدامة ضمن هيئة التدريس في برنامج ماجستير العلوم في الفن والعمارة الإسلامية والعمران. سيكون المرشح المثالي لتولي أي من هذه الوظائف قادرًا على الإسهام في التدريس وتعزيز نقاط القوة البحثية في هذا التخصص، بما في ذلك السعي للحصول على تمويل الأبحاث والنشر في الدوريات الأكاديمية المُحَكَّمَة والمرموقة.

يعد برنامج ماجستير العلوم في الفن والعمارة الإسلامية والعمران أحد برامج الدراسات العليا الرائدة في المنطقة وعلى مستوى العالم. والبرنامج فريد من حيث التركيز والهيكل والمحتوى في ظل عدم توفر برنامج مماثل في قطر أو المنطقة أو العالم الإسلامي. ويركز البرنامج على فهم تاريخ الفن والعمارة والتنمية الحضرية المستدامة في العالم الإسلامي، مما يجسد بناءه الأساسي وفهمه ونشره وتطبيقه على المؤسسات العالمية بشكل عام، وبشكل أكثر تحديدًا على المجتمعات ذات التقاليد والمعارف الإسلامية المتجذرة في التقاليد الإسلامية.

كما أن برنامج ماجستير العلوم في الفن والعمارة الإسلامية والعمران شامل بطبيعته لأنه يدمج نهجًا شاملاً لفهم البيئة العمرانية وثقافة المجتمعات الإسلامية. ويتناول البيئة المبنية على مستويات مختلفة تتراوح من المساحات الداخلية والمباني والفضاءات العامة الخارجية والحضرية وصولاً إلى المدن.

المجالات الأساسية:

  • عقد الدورات والندوات التي تسند له.
  •  الإشراف على الأنشطة الدراسية المستقلة.
  • الإشراف الأكاديمي على الطلاب.
  • المشاركة في لجان الكلية والجامعة ورئاستها.
  • المشاركة في تقييم أعضاء هيئة التدريس وترقيتهم.
  • دعم المجتمع المهني والمجتمع المحلي فيما يتعلق بالتخصص الأكاديمي للمرشح.
  • المشاركة في أنشطة تطوير المناهج بما في ذلك تطوير المواد المقررة والمناهج التعليمية الخاصة.
  • إجراء البحوث والأنشطة العلمية المماثلة.
  • الإشراف على المشاريع البحثية والرسائل العلمية وأطروحات التخرج.
  • السعي للحصول على المنح التمويلية للبحوث.
  • مهام أخرى معقولة تكلفه بها الكلية.

المؤهلات والخبرات والمهارات:

  • حائز على درجة الدكتوراه أو درجة أعلى منها من جامعة معترف بها حسب ضرورة التدريس في مجالات محددة.
  • من خمس إلى ست سنوات كحد أدنى من الخبرة في مجالي البحوث والتعليم العالي أو المجالات وثيقة الصلة بالمجال (قد تكون هناك حاجة لسنوات إضافية من الخبرة لإظهار الكفاءة المطلوبة) مع دليل على النضج المهني والإنتاج البحثي.
  • دليل على الكفاءة في التدريس والإشراف على الطلاب وتطوير المناهج والبرامج الأكاديمية.
  • لديه إنجازات بحثية وعلمية متميزة ومناسبة لدرجة أستاذ مساعد / مشارك / متفرغ مقارنة بزملائه الفاعلين في نفس المجال في جامعات بحثية كبرى.
  • لديه الدليل على مواصلة المشاركة في الأنشطة العلمية والشؤون الأكاديمية للجامعة أو أي مؤسسة مناسبة أخرى أو في جمعية أو رابطة مهنية مناسبة.
  • لديه سمعة طيبة على المستويين الوطني والإقليمي فيما يتعلق بجهوده العلمية في توفير (المنح البحثية الممولة والمنشورات العلمية والملكية الفكرية / براءات الاختراع وما إلى ذلك) مقارنةً بأقرانه المتميزين في نفس المجال بالجامعات البحثية الكبرى.
  • لديه قدرة على العمل وقيادة فرق متعددة الجنسيات والثقافات والمجتمعات.
  • قدرة على بناء شبكات وعلاقات تعاون مهمة على المستويين الوطني والإقليمي في مجالات التدريس والأنشطة البحثية. 
  • مهارات ممتازة في الكتابة مع القدرة على التواصل الفعال والقدرة على صياغة الأفكار بوضوح ودقة وإيجاز باللغة الإنجليزية.
  • إجادة اللغة العربية ميزة إضافية.
  • كفاءة في تطبيقات مايكروسوفت أوفيس.

التقديم:

على الراغبين في التقديم لهذه الوظائف إرفاق السيرة الذاتية، وخطاب التعريف، وبيان البحوث، وبيان التدريس، وأسماء ثلاثة أشخاص مراجع مع كامل بيانات الاتصال على الرابط الآتي: انقر هنا للتقديم.

آخر موعد للتقديم:

تبدأ مراجعة الطلبات المستوفاة اعتبارًا من الآن وحتى شغل هذه الوظائف.   

الراتب والبدلات:

تمنح جامعة حمد بن خليفة راتبًا مجزيًا مُعفى من الضرائب، وبدلات إضافية تشمل: بدل تعليم، وسكن مؤثث، وإجازة سنوية مدفوعة الأجر، وتذاكر سفر، وتأمين صحي.

تراعي جامعة حمد بن خليفة، كمؤسسة أكاديمية وجهة توظيف، المساواة في تقديم الفرص الوظيفية، وتلتزم بضمان التعددية الثقافية والتنوع الأكاديمي، وأعلى المعايير في انتقاء فريق العمل لديها.