About | Hamad Bin Khalifa University

Islamic finance has seen significant growth in recent decades and has remained resilient since the start of the pandemic, with assets expected to grow by 10.6% in 2020, according to S&P Global Ratings. Moreover, it is forecasted that the global Islamic finance industry will grow by 10–12% annually, with its total global asset value reaching USD 3.69 trillion by 2024. In addition, Islamic FinTech has emerged as the fastest-growing financial technology segment in the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) member countries. Despite the exponential growth, the full potential of Islamic FinTech is yet and still far from being realized. It is reported that Islamic FinTech contributed USD 49 billion worth of transaction volumes in OIC countries in 2020, representing only 0.7% of the global FinTech transactions (Global Islamic FinTech report, 2021).

Digitalization offers Islamic finance and economy (IFE) great growth opportunities, both in market value and in socio-economic impact. From the start of the new decade, Islamic finance has significantly evolved from simply providing shari’a-compliant alternatives. Today, Islamic finance also offers shari’a-compliant bespoke products to customers worldwide with an increased focus on environmental, social, and governance (ESG) factors combined with the integration of emerging technology solutions such as blockchain, smart contracts, and artificial intelligence (AI).

While the aforementioned emerging technology brings enormous opportunities, it also comes with a caveat of unwanted consequences. This includes unethical use of technology, unequal growth, an increase in social gaps, pollution, the depletion of natural resources, and many more. Nevertheless, technology is morally neutral and will only remain a tool. Their design principles and how well humans utilize them determine the impacts and outcomes. Therefore, it is vital for IFE to ensure it adopts and embraces the emerging technology with God-Consciousness and operationalizes Islamic virtues in the design principles and frameworks.

Most importantly, IFE requires a robust "vision" that can guide the Islamic finance industry for the next decade and provide the necessary strategies and structure for a strong future. Also, it should develop a maqasid-centric "vision" that is sustainable and respectfully works with the biosphere, not against it, and a pre-eminent "vision" that upholds the inquisitive and virtuous spirit of all golden ages, especially the Islamic golden era.

With this background, the International Conference on Islamic Finance (ICIF) 2022 aims to:

  1. Address contemporary and emerging concerns faced by all facets of the Islamic finance and economy.
  2. Provide a direction for the Islamic finance and economy to adopt and integrate emerging technological tools and advancements for offering innovative products and solutions.
  3. Analyze various facets within the ecosystem of Islamic finance and economy their contribution towards SDG agenda, taking cognizance to fulfill the Maqasid al-Shari’a.
  4. Promote research topics that are aligned with QF, HBKU, and CIS-HBKU research pillars and disseminate them through reputable scholarly publications.

The three-day conference will provide a platform for high-level dialogues and discussions between academics, researchers, students, industry leaders, practitioners, and policymakers to frame the next decade of Islamic finance and economy, concentrating on linking values and impact in the era of digitalization.
Papers presented at the past four conferences have been published in the form of edited volumes by Edinburgh University Press, Taylor & Francis (Routledge), and Springer-Nature.

About Hamad Bin Khalifa University

Hamad Bin Khalifa University (HBKU), a member of Qatar Foundation for Education, Science, and Community Development (QF), was founded in 2010 to continue fulfilling QF’s vision of unlocking human potential. HBKU is a homegrown research and graduate studies university that acts as a catalyst for positive transformation in Qatar and the region while having a global impact.

Located within Education City, HBKU seeks to provide unparalleled opportunities where inquiry and discovery are integral to teaching and learning at all levels utilizing a multidisciplinary approach across all focus areas.

HBKU is committed to actively contribute to achieving the Qatar National Vision 2030 by building and cultivating human capacity through an enriching academic experience and an innovative research ecosystem. Through applying creativity to knowledge, students will have the opportunity to discover innovative solutions that are locally relevant and have a global impact.

At HBKU– our students, faculty, staff, partners, and leadership – all share a common belief in the power of higher education and research to make a positive impact in the development of nations.

More information at www.hbku.edu.qa 

About Education City

Our flagship initiative is a campus of more than 12 square kilometers that hosts branch campuses of some of the world's leading educational institutes, a homegrown university, and other research, scholastic, and community centers. Together, these institutes make Education City a unique model of academic and research excellence, pioneering a new approach to multidisciplinary, global education and enabling breakthroughs that benefit Qatar and the rest of the world.

Total Students Across Our Universities and Schools: 8,000+
Universities Located in Education City: 9
Schools As Part of Our Pre-University Education Network: 11

More information at https://www.qf.org.qa/education/education-city

About Qatar

Qatar has been an independent sovereign state since 1971. Qatar comprises an 11,500 sq. km peninsula extending northwards into the Arabian Gulf. It has 563 km of uninterrupted coastline. 

The country’s population stands at 2.69 million and its capital city is Doha.
Local time is GMT/UCT + 3 hours. There are no daylight savings adjustments.
Qatar has a desert climate with year-round sunshine, very hot summers and mild winters. Mean monthly temperatures range from 17°C in January to 36°C in July, sometimes reaching highs of 40°C+ during the summer. Rain is infrequent, falling in brief showers mainly in winter.

Capital: Doha
Population: 2.6 million
Area: 11,500 sq. km
Language: Arabic
Religion: Islam
Currency: Riyal
Power Connection: The power plugs and sockets are of type D and G. The standard voltage is 240 V and the standard frequency is 50 Hz.

More information at https://www.visitqatar.qa

About | جامعة حمد بن خليفة

شهد التمويل الإسلامي نموًا كبيرًا في العقود الأخيرة وظل يتمتع بالمرونة مع بداية الجائحة العالمية في ظل توقع نمو أصوله بنسبة 10.6٪ في عام 2020، وفقًا لوكالة أس أند بي جلوبال للتصنيفات الائتمانية. علاوة على ذلك، من المتوقع أن تنمو صناعة التمويل الإسلامي على مستوى العالم بنسبة 10-12٪ سنويًا، مع وصول إجمالي قيمة أصولها العالمية إلى 3.69 تريليون دولار أمريكي بحلول عام 2024. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، برزت التكنولوجيا المالية الإسلامية باعتبارها قطاع التكنولوجيا المالية الأسرع نموًا في الدول الأعضاء في منظمة التعاون الإسلامي. وعلى الرغم من هذا النمو المتسارع، فإن الإمكانات الكاملة للتكنولوجيا المالية الإسلامية لم تستخدم بعد ولا تزال بعيدة عن المستوى المأمول. وتفيد التقارير أن التكنولوجيا المالية الإسلامية ساهمت بما قيمته 49 مليار دولار من حجم المعاملات في دول منظمة التعاون الإسلامي في عام 2020، وهو ما يمثل 0.7٪ فقط من معاملات التكنولوجيا المالية العالمية وفقًا لتقرير التكنولوجيا المالية الإسلامية العالمية لعام 2021.

من جانب آخر، توفر الرقمنة فرص نمو كبيرة للتمويل والاقتصاد الإسلامي، سواء من حيث القيمة السوقية أو التأثير الاجتماعي والاقتصادي. فمنذ بداية العقد الجديد، تطور التمويل الإسلامي بشكل كبير من مجرد تقديم بدائل متوافقة مع الشريعة الإسلامية، واليوم، يقدم التمويل الإسلامي أيضًا منتجات متوافقة مع الشريعة الإسلامية للعملاء في جميع أنحاء العالم مع زيادة التركيز على العوامل البيئية والاجتماعية والحوكمة جنبًا إلى جنب مع تكامل الحلول التكنولوجية الناشئة مثل سلاسل البيانات والعقود الذكية والذكاء الاصطناعي.

وبينما تهيئ التكنولوجيا الناشئة فرصًا هائلة، يواكبها أيضًا محاذير تتعلق بالعواقب غير المرغوب فيها، ويشمل ذلك الاستخدام غير الأخلاقي للتكنولوجيا، والنمو غير المتكافئ، واتساع الفجوات الاجتماعية، والتلوث، ونفاد الموارد الطبيعية، وما إلى ذلك.

ومع ذلك، تتخذ التكنولوجيا موقفًا محايدًا من الناحية الأخلاقية وستظل مجرد أداة. كما تحدد مبادئ التصميم الخاصة بالتكنولوجيا وحسن استخدام البشر لها التأثيرات والنتائج. لذلك، من الضروري أن يطبق التمويل والاقتصاد الإسلامي بشكل يضمن تبنيه للتكنولوجيا الناشئة واستيعابها بوعي وكذلك تفعيل الفضائل الإسلامية في مبادئ وأطر التصميم.

والأهم من ذلك، يتطلب التمويل والاقتصاد الإسلامي "رؤية" قوية يمكن أن توجه صناعة التمويل الإسلامي خلال العقد القادم وتوفر الاستراتيجيات والبنية اللازمة لمستقبل أكثر ازدهارًا. كما يتعين عليه تطوير "رؤية" مستدامة تتمحور حول المقاصد وتعمل باحترام مع المحيط الحيوي، وليس ضده، فضلاً عن "رؤية" بارزة تدعم الروح الشغوفة بالمعرفة والمستقيمة لجميع العصور الذهبية، وخاصة الحقبة الإسلامية الذهبية.

في ظل هذه الخلفية، يهدف المؤتمر الدولي للتمويل الإسلامي 2022 إلى:

  1. معالجة الاهتمامات المعاصرة والناشئة التي تواجه جميع جوانب التمويل والاقتصاد الإسلامي.
  2. توفير توجه يدفع التمويل والاقتصاد الإسلامي لتبني ودمج الأدوات والتطورات التكنولوجية الناشئة لتوفير منتجات وحلول مبتكرة.
  3. تحليل الجوانب المختلفة في منظومة التمويل والاقتصاد الإسلامي ومساهمتها في جدول أعمال أهداف التنمية المستدامة مع الانتباه لأهمية تحقيق مقاصد الشريعة.
  4. الترويج لموضوعات البحث التي تتسق مع الركائز البحثية لمؤسسة قطر وجامعة حمد بن خليفة وكلية الدراسات الإسلامية وتعزيز الوعي بها من خلال المنشورات العلمية المرموقة. 

يوفر هذا المؤتمر الذي يعقد على مدار ثلاثة أيام منصةً رفيعة المستوى للحوار والنقاش تضم الأكاديميين والباحثين والطلاب وقادة الصناعة والمتخصصين وصُناع السياسات لتأطير التمويل والاقتصاد الإسلامي خلال العقد القادم، مع التركيز على ربط القيمة بالتأثير في عصر الرقمنة.

وقد نُشرت الأوراق المقدمة في النسخ الأربع الماضية من المؤتمر في شكل مجلدات محررة وصادرة عن مطبعة جامعة إدنبرة، وتايلور وفرانسيس (راوتليدج)، وسبرنجر-نيتشر.
 

نُبذة عن جامعة حمد بن خليفة

تأسست جامعة حمد بن خليفة، عضو مؤسسة قطر للتربية والعلوم وتنمية المجتمع، عام 2010، بهدف الإسهام في تحقيق رؤية مؤسسة قطر الرامية إلى إطلاق قدرات الإنسان. وهي تُعدُّ جامعة بحثية وطنية، تستهدف الإسهام في مسيرة التنمية ودعم التطوير في قطاعات متعددة بدولة قطر والمنطقة بأسرها، فضلاً عن تدعيم مركزها وتأثيرها العالمي في الوقت نفسه.

تسعى جامعة حمد بن خليفة، من خلال موقعها في المدينة التعليمية، إلى توفير فرص لا مثيل لها، يُشكِّل فيها البحث والاكتشاف جزءًا أساسيًّا من تجربة التعليم والتعلُّم على جميع المستويات، باستخدام نهج متعدد التخصصات يُركِّز على شتى المجالات.

وانطلاقًا من شعورها بالالتزام تجاه تحقيق رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030، تسعى جامعة حمد بن خليفة لبناء القدرات البشرية من خلال تقديم تجربة أكاديمية ثرية، ونظام بحثي بيئي فريد من نوعه. ومن خلال المعرفة والإبداع، ستكون لدى الطلاب فرصة كبيرة للتوصل إلى حلول وابتكارات جديدة، يكون لها عظيم الأثر في تطوير مجتمعهم والعالم بأسره.

يؤمن جميع أفراد مجتمع جامعة حمد بن خليفة، من الطلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين والشركاء والقيادات، بمدى قوة التعليم العالي والبحث العلمي، وقدرتهما على إحداث تأثير إيجابي في تنمية الدول وتقدُّمها.

للمزيد من المعلومات، تفضلوا بزيارة الموقع الإلكتروني: www.hbku.edu.qa

نُبذة عن المدينة التعليمية

تتمثل مبادرتنا الريادية في حرم جامعي تزيد مساحته عن 12 كيلو مترًا مربعًا، يضم أفرعًا لبعض المؤسسات التعليمية الرائدة في العالم، وجامعة وطنية، وغيرها من المراكز البحثية والتعليمية والمجتمعية. وتصنع هذه الكوكبة من المؤسسات من المدينة التعليمية نموذجًا فريدًا للتميز الأكاديمي والبحثي، ومركزًا رائدًا في تقديم نهج جديد لتعليم متعدد التخصصات بمعايير عالمية، ما يُمكّن من تحقيق إنجازات فريدة تعود بالنفع على قطر وباقي أنحاء العالم.

إجمالي عدد الطلاب في جامعات المدينة التعليمية والمدارس التابعة لها: أكثر من 8,000 طالب 
عدد الجامعات الموجودة في المدينة التعليمية: 9
عدد المدارس التي تشكل جزءًا من شبكة التعليم قبل الجامعي: 11

للمزيد من المعلومات: https://www.qf.org.qa/education/education-city

نُبذة عن قطر

أصبحت قطر دولة مستقلة ذات سيادة عام 1971. وهي شبه جزيرة مساحتها 11,500 كيلومتر مربع، تمتد من جهة الشمال في عمق الخليج العربي، ولها ساحل متصل بطول 563 كيلومترًا. ويبلغ تعداد السكان 2.69 مليون نسمة، وعاصمتها الدوحة.

التوقيت المحلي بالنسبة إلى توقيت غرينتش هو +3 ساعات، دون تغيير في توقيتها الصيفي.

تتميز قطر بمناخها الصحراوي المشمس طوال العام، فصيفها حار وشتاؤها معتدل. ويتراوح متوسط درجات الحرارة عبر شهور السنة بين 17 درجة مئوية في شهر يناير و36 درجة مئوية في يوليو، وتصل أحيانًا إلى أكثر من 40 درجة مئوية خلال أشهر الصيف. وتتساقط الأمطار بشكل متقطع، وتنهمر خلال فترات قصيرة من فصل الشتاء.

العاصمة: الدوحة
عدد السكان: 2.6 مليون
المساحة: 11,500 كيلومتر مربع
اللغة: العربية
الديانة: الإسلام
العملة: الريال
وصلات الكهرباء: قابس وتجاويف الكهرباء من النوع D و G، والجهد المعياري 240 فولط، والتردد القياسي 50 هرتز.

للمزيد من المعلومات: https://www.visitqatar.qa